Hover over the image to zoom or click to enlarge

Ecozone Magnoball - Descale

Ecozone »

Product code: 19603
4.4 / 5 stars based on 29 ratings

£9.99

Purchase Options



Earn reward points on this item Earn 50 reward points on this item In Stock : Available for despatch next working dayGift wrap available

29 Customer Reviews

Viewing all Reviews ordered by  

4/ 5 statrs
Submitted by   on 21st Sep 2018

Verified product owner

A matter of faith as to whether it is working or not, but better than buying box after box of water softening powder or tablets!

0 out of 0 found this review helpful

Did you find this review helpful?  

5/ 5 statrs
Submitted by   on 5th Jul 2018

Verified product owner

No problem works well.

0 out of 0 found this review helpful

Did you find this review helpful?  

5/ 5 statrs
Submitted by   on 18th Apr 2018

Verified product owner

Would recommend

0 out of 0 found this review helpful

Did you find this review helpful?  

5/ 5 statrs
Submitted by   on 20th Aug 2017

Verified product owner

So far, so amazing! I have water drawn from a chalk bore hole. The residue is awful, coating sinks, dishes and clothes. I can never achieve a good lather with soaps amd my skin continually feels dry. This product has literally changed everything. My clothes are softer, dishes sparkling clean and they do a version for my toilet also (not on this website). I just wish they did a device that I can fit onto my pipes so I can have a bath that doesn't dry out my skin and coat my hair!

4 out of 5 found this review helpful

Did you find this review helpful?  

5/ 5 statrs
Submitted by   on 11th Nov 2016

Verified product owner

I have used this for a number of years satisfactorily. my daughter has just bought a new washing machine so I bought her one to use.

4 out of 5 found this review helpful

Did you find this review helpful?  

5/ 5 statrs
Submitted by   on 26th Dec 2015

Verified product owner

Lasts well and the fact that our washing machine is still working well after many years in a hard water area is testament to its success

5 out of 7 found this review helpful

Did you find this review helpful?  

4/ 5 statrs
Submitted by   on 20th Nov 2014

Verified product owner

Too early to say how good this is as have only just started using it.

2 out of 4 found this review helpful

Did you find this review helpful?  

3/ 5 statrs
Submitted by   on 8th Sep 2014

Verified product owner

only just started to use this. so far so good. I think I can see an improvement in washing etc but would need longer for a more realistic review

2 out of 2 found this review helpful

Did you find this review helpful?  

3/ 5 statrs
Submitted by   on 11th Mar 2014

Verified product owner

Have not noticed a difference to be honest, but wasn't expecting immediate difference anyway.

2 out of 2 found this review helpful

Did you find this review helpful?  

5/ 5 statrs
Submitted by   on 4th Jan 2014

Verified product owner

Thank you

0 out of 2 found this review helpful

Did you find this review helpful?  

5/ 5 statrs
Submitted by   on 9th Sep 2013

Verified product owner

magno balls are very effective and I will continue to use for the foreseeable future.

4 out of 4 found this review helpful

Did you find this review helpful?  

4/ 5 statrs
Submitted by   on 28th May 2013

Verified product owner

As far as I know its doing its job.

1 out of 2 found this review helpful

Did you find this review helpful?  

5/ 5 statrs
Submitted by   on 17th May 2013

Verified product owner

Seems to do the job!

1 out of 1 found this review helpful

Did you find this review helpful?  

4/ 5 statrs
Submitted by   on 29th Apr 2013

Verified product owner

Seems good so far

1 out of 1 found this review helpful

Did you find this review helpful?  

5/ 5 statrs
Submitted by   on 18th Apr 2013

Verified product owner

This seems good quality compared to a cheap one I bought before. The only comment on its capacity to reduce limescale sticking to washing is that when I used it in a hard water area with no powder to wash nappies, they came out softer than not using it. So I will keep using it!

6 out of 6 found this review helpful

Did you find this review helpful?  

5/ 5 statrs
Submitted by   on 2nd Apr 2013

Verified product owner

I bought this as it is also good for excema suffers and certainly does seem to help...

3 out of 3 found this review helpful

Did you find this review helpful?  

5/ 5 statrs
Submitted by   on 8th Jan 2013

Verified product owner

There couldn't be an easier way of protecting my machine from limescale.

2 out of 2 found this review helpful

Did you find this review helpful?  

5/ 5 statrs
Submitted by   on 18th Dec 2012

Verified product owner

In the washing machine.
Good for lime scale problems.
Seems to be good quality.

1 out of 1 found this review helpful

Did you find this review helpful?  

5/ 5 statrs
Submitted by   on 11th Oct 2012

Verified product owner

use product in washing machine.It is good quality, robust;

1 out of 1 found this review helpful

Did you find this review helpful?  

4/ 5 statrs
Submitted by   on 11th Oct 2012

Verified product owner

I use this in the dishwasher. By its nature I have no idea whether it works or not, but I have faith

1 out of 2 found this review helpful

Did you find this review helpful?  

5/ 5 statrs
Submitted by   on 13th Sep 2012

Verified product owner

Works well in my washing machine.

1 out of 1 found this review helpful

Did you find this review helpful?  

3/ 5 statrs
Submitted by   on 3rd Sep 2012

Verified product owner

no significant assistance but I use to put it together with the wash.

1 out of 1 found this review helpful

Did you find this review helpful?  

5/ 5 statrs
Submitted by   on 9th May 2012

Verified product owner

Great item. Works well so far.

1 out of 1 found this review helpful

Did you find this review helpful?  

4/ 5 statrs
Submitted by   on 13th Mar 2012

Verified product owner

The last ones I had were good so I hope these ones are as good!

0 out of 0 found this review helpful

Did you find this review helpful?  

4/ 5 statrs
Submitted by   on 4th Jan 2012

I bought it on an 'eco' whim but its surprisingly effective, even in the hardwater hell on London - works well in both the dishwasher and washing machine

3 out of 4 found this review helpful

Did you find this review helpful?  

4/ 5 statrs
Submitted by   on 2nd Dec 2011

The Magnoball is definately a necessity with the ecoballs for use in hard water areas - makes the world of difference - I've found my washing machine is much more economical since using this. I would highly recommend it.rn

4 out of 4 found this review helpful

Did you find this review helpful?  

4/ 5 statrs
Submitted by   on 15th May 2010

Verified product owner

It seems sturdy. I'm using it with the Eco Balls. It's impossible to tell whether it's working, but I've had no problems at all and it's quieter than I'd expected. I'm glad I've got it-our washing machine is rented so it's especially important to avoid limescale build-up. I don't want to keep buying anti-limescale tablets and they couldn't be used with the ecoballs anyway. I've also read that the ecoballs don't work as well in hard water so it's good to have this to help them work as well aspossible.

8 out of 10 found this review helpful

Did you find this review helpful?  

4/ 5 statrs
Submitted by   on 15th Feb 2010

Verified product owner

Ethically good, but so very noisy in use. I use my washing machine on cheap rate electricity at night, but the Magno ball sounds like a tap dancing elephant, so in a small house like mine, will wake nearby sleepers or prevent sleep. Unless I have a short wash that will operate between 7.00 and 8am when cheap rate finishes, I have to use a quieter method of washing. Even if I bury the ball in the middle of the clothes, it still works free and bangs around. I hope they find a softer container in the not too distant future!

11 out of 11 found this review helpful

Did you find this review helpful?  

5/ 5 statrs
Submitted by   on 12th Jul 2009

Verified product owner

This little green rubbery ball is brilliant! not only do i know only use a thimblefull of both conditioner and laundry liquid my clothes are no super soft too! its brill

12 out of 14 found this review helpful

Did you find this review helpful?  

13 Questions

Viewing all Questions ordered by  

Gail  asked this question on 30th Jun 2008

Q: Roughly how often should the magno balls be used and how long do they last?

A: The magno ball should be used as part of a normal cycle and can last up to 10 years (the product is gauranteed for 5 years!) Marty.

29 out of 30 found this question and answer helpful.

Did you find this Q&A helpful? Yes No

Brid  asked this question on 15th Jan 2008

Q: Do you use the magno ball while doing a wash in either the washing machine or dishwasher or do you run an empty wash with it in every so often?

A: The magno ball is used during the normal washing cycle. John

16 out of 19 found this question and answer helpful.

Did you find this Q&A helpful? Yes No

Anonymous  asked this question on 9th Sep 2008

Q: I have a washer dryer (as opposed to a washing machine only) is it safe to use the magnoball and can I leave the ball in the machine when it's in the drying mode? thanks

A: The magno ball should be fine for use during the washing cycle but should NOT be used during tumble drying. John.

16 out of 16 found this question and answer helpful.

Did you find this Q&A helpful? Yes No

Jacqui  asked this question on 5th May 2008

Q: This may seem an obvious question - apologies - are these designed to be used in place of water-softening tablets/powder in washing machines? (Calgon, for example?)

A: Yes, by using the Magnoball you may no longer require anti-lime scale tablets to soften your water as the Magnoball will do this by up to 70%.

9 out of 11 found this question and answer helpful.

Did you find this Q&A helpful? Yes No

Priscilla  asked this question on 21st Apr 2008

Q: Could you put the Magno Ball in the toilet cistern?

A: Yes.

8 out of 9 found this question and answer helpful.

Did you find this Q&A helpful? Yes No

Margaret  asked this question on 30th Jan 2008

Q: Could you please confirm that it's safe to use the Magno Ball in a washing machine that is computer chip controlled.
I know it sounds silly, but given the warnings about keeping it away grom computers I want to be sure before I risk my Neff washing machine.

Thanks.

A: There should be no issue with the operation of the magno-ball in your washing machine. Hope this helps. Thomas.

6 out of 8 found this question and answer helpful.

Did you find this Q&A helpful? Yes No

Kyle  asked this question on 1st May 2008

Q: When using the magno ball in the dishwasher, do I still have to use dishwasher salt?

A: Yes salt can still be used, you may no longer require anti-lime scale tablets to soften your water as the Magnoball® will do this by up to 70%. John.

5 out of 8 found this question and answer helpful.

Did you find this Q&A helpful? Yes No

Anonymous  asked this question on 13th Nov 2008

Q: A strange question perhaps, but can the Magno Ball be used in the bath to soften washing water?

A: We contacted the manufacturer for advice about this. As the magnoball was not designed for this type of use it's never been tested in such a situation. However as it is designed for use in an environment where water is constantly moving (i.e. washing machines and dishwashers) it is likely it won't be as effective in a bathtub situation.

4 out of 4 found this question and answer helpful.

Did you find this Q&A helpful? Yes No

Agonyjohn  asked this question on 7th Jun 2009

Q: what is the maximum heat this product can withstand, if you can heat dry it can it take a 90 degree wash?

A: According to the manufacturer you can use the magnoball on a 90 degree wash. Marty

3 out of 3 found this question and answer helpful.

Did you find this Q&A helpful? Yes No

Gracequirrel  asked this question on 26th Apr 2010

Q: How heavy is the magno ball? I've read that water softener balls like this can dent the washing machine, is this possible/likely?

A: Hi, the magno ball weighs only 175g and feels a bit like rubber, so during washing machine spins, the magno ball shouldn't dent the edges of the drum, but bounce off them safely. I hope this helps. Robyn.

3 out of 3 found this question and answer helpful.

Did you find this Q&A helpful? Yes No

Pinklasies54  asked this question on 21st Jul 2009

Q: hi, i have a lot of handknitted washable mohair jumpers, can it be used with these items please?

A: Yes, there should be no adverse affect of using the Magno Ball, as long as the jumpers are suitable for washing/drying. Marty

3 out of 3 found this question and answer helpful.

Did you find this Q&A helpful? Yes No

Anonymous  asked this question on 22nd May 2009

Q: Will this work with the modern energy saving washing machine? mine dosn't seem to have much water in at all while it washes.

A: According to the manufacturer, yes the magnoball does work in the modern energy/water saving washing machines. Marty

3 out of 3 found this question and answer helpful.

Did you find this Q&A helpful? Yes No

Anonymous  asked this question on 30th Aug 2019

Q: I'm shortly moving to a property with a septic tank, is this product septic tank safe?

A: Hi there, Thanks for your query. Yes all of Ecozone products are septic tank safe, including this Magnoball - Descale. I hope this helps, Kind regards.

2 out of 2 found this question and answer helpful.

Did you find this Q&A helpful? Yes No