Hover over the image to zoom or click to enlarge

Guppyfriend Washing Bag

GuppyFriend »

Product code: 422515
2.9 / 5 stars based on 29 ratings

£25.00

Purchase Options

Currently unavailable to order. Expected to arrive in 5 days. Want to be notified when stock arrives?


Earn reward points on this item Earn 125 reward points on this item Gift wrap available

29 Customer Reviews

Viewing all Reviews ordered by  

2/ 5 statrs
Submitted by   on 24th Sep 2021

Verified product owner

Astonishing shrinkage: alleged size 75x50, after a few washes it went down to 60x40, and from holding a fleece jacket and trousers to just the trousers. Only bit that shrank less is the zip, which makes it difficult to do up. Good idea, but back to the drawing board...

1 out of 1 found this review helpful

Did you find this review helpful?  

1/ 5 statrs
Submitted by   on 12th Aug 2021

Thought this was such a good idea. The zip tag fell off after a couple of weeks and there is no way of mending it. I contacted the company and they sent me a replacement. The zip fell off again even faster. Until the company puts a heavier duty zip with a secure pull- tag on this product it is useless. Very disappointed. They promise alot , aren't cheap and are useless within weeks.

5 out of 6 found this review helpful

Did you find this review helpful?  

5/ 5 statrs
Submitted by   on 31st Jul 2021

Verified product owner

Use this for washing my synthetics. The zip on my first one has now gone (sadly) but delighted that the new one is bigger.
Have given it to friends as gifts

3 out of 3 found this review helpful

Did you find this review helpful?  

1/ 5 statrs
Submitted by   on 18th Jul 2021

Verified product owner

Big design fault. The zip comes open in the wash making it useless. Given the other reviews about it breaking the washing machine I wonít be using it apart from for a few small items. Nice idea but a big waste of money sadly. It is also too small for a full wash.

9 out of 9 found this review helpful

Did you find this review helpful?  

1/ 5 statrs
Submitted by   on 15th Jun 2021

Ruined our washing machine...shredded apart and killed the water pump. How is this helping the environment?

9 out of 9 found this review helpful

Did you find this review helpful?  

1/ 5 statrs
Submitted by   on 1st Jun 2021

Like one of the reviewers above, my machine is also broken due to using this bag. This item needs to come with a BIG warning that filling the bag too much risks breaking the machine. I tried to do the right thing and am seriously out of pocket as a result. And how is the environment served by a prematurely knackered washing machine.

4 out of 4 found this review helpful

Did you find this review helpful?  

4/ 5 statrs
Submitted by   on 30th Mar 2021

Verified product owner

Mostly happy with it! Many reviews mention the amount of clothes that you can fill in - it's true that you have to be careful about not to overfill it, but we are a 2-person household and haven't had any issues with most of our washes.

2 out of 2 found this review helpful

Did you find this review helpful?  

1/ 5 statrs
Submitted by   on 6th Feb 2021

Verified product owner

Cannot give any stars! Followed instructions made sure bag wasn't over 2/3 full so clothes could move. It turns out that clothes can't move when you fill it up to 2/3 so I have not only wasted £25 but now need new watching machine. It may, if it works, save the oceans but the impact on the environment of having to do additional washing or having to replace your machine is far greater.

12 out of 21 found this review helpful

Did you find this review helpful?  

3/ 5 statrs
Submitted by   on 3rd Nov 2020

Verified product owner

Great idea, and it does collect fibres in the corners (at the end with the zip), but my zip has long fallen off (making it hard to open and close). Also, it's very small, so you can't get much inside. And jumpers etc tend to come out very creased. It can only be used at 30 degrees too.

31 out of 32 found this review helpful

Did you find this review helpful?  

1/ 5 statrs
Submitted by   on 28th Aug 2020

Verified product owner

Very disappointed. Came with few instructions, so possible I didn't use it correctly. Collected no fibres (maybe all fibres already washed away in earlier washes?). Put a few items in the bag and they remained soggy as didn't spin properly (again, maybe I didn't use correctly). Will try it again on single new garments or will have to find another use for the bag!

20 out of 23 found this review helpful

Did you find this review helpful?  

4/ 5 statrs
Submitted by   on 25th Jul 2020

Verified product owner

It works but have given it 4 not 5 stars as it is not as robust as I hoped. rnrnI had my first bag for 6 months but I washed things too hot (ie over the temp they recommend as I didn't read the instructions properly) and also wasn't terribly careful with it. The zip came off and then the bag developed holes from snagging on our wicker wash basket. rnrnDespite all that it was still capturing some fibres. rnrnI am on my second and will treat it properly this time. I still think, despite the expense, it is worth having these if you want to do your bit to reduce water pollution. It is effective.rnrnAnd I am buying one for my brother, who is a runner so has lots of kit with microfibres!rn

12 out of 14 found this review helpful

Did you find this review helpful?  

4/ 5 statrs
Submitted by   on 12th Jul 2020

Verified product owner

Iíve had mine for a few years now and havenít had any issues with the zip like other reviewers have mentioned - my zip is still in perfect condition. However Iíve never seen any fibres collected inside the bag so Iíve no idea if itís actually doing anything.

9 out of 11 found this review helpful

Did you find this review helpful?  

4/ 5 statrs
Submitted by   on 9th Jun 2020

Verified product owner

I bought two a few years back and the zips came off - I still use them by pushing the zips shut with my fingers. I bought another two and made sure I tucked the zips properly under the flaps, and so far so good, the zips are still attached. Time will tell if the zips last, but when the bags are closed they definitely capture and separate out significant amounts of microfibres.

16 out of 16 found this review helpful

Did you find this review helpful?  

2/ 5 statrs
Submitted by   on 30th Mar 2020

Verified product owner

Like several others I liked the bag for the fact that it collected the fibres but mine is just under a year old and the zip has broken: The tag that you pull the zip along with has broken off making it virtually impossible to use.

28 out of 29 found this review helpful

Did you find this review helpful?  

4/ 5 statrs
Submitted by   on 11th Mar 2020

Verified product owner

I have 2 of these bags. I really like them , they do work and collect microfibres. Unfortunately, as with another reviewer, both the zips have gone. One bag is less than a year old, the other maybe two years old. I would give 5 stars for use, but obviously durability not good!

28 out of 28 found this review helpful

Did you find this review helpful?  

4/ 5 statrs
Submitted by   on 29th Feb 2020

Verified product owner

Oh dear, I had two, which helps to equalise the weight in the machine so that it spins properly, and they do protect the delicates very well, but the zips on both have come adrift, making the bags useless for collecting the synthetic fibres. Hadn't had them all that long - just over a year. Is that to be expected? I treat them very gently, and they're quite expensive

32 out of 32 found this review helpful

Did you find this review helpful?  

3/ 5 statrs
Submitted by   on 7th Feb 2020

Verified product owner

This is a good idea but I canít use this in winter. We line dry our clothes & even with washing ma nine on maximum spin we still get a puddle of water left behind in the machine. Clothes are still very wet & in winter have to.be dried indoors. Have only used twice to date.rnReasonable size bag but have bought 2 I order to fit whole wash into them as very little of our clothes are 100% cotton.

13 out of 14 found this review helpful

Did you find this review helpful?  

1/ 5 statrs
Submitted by   on 30th Dec 2019

fine if using with jumpers or something that needs cool wash. Bag is made out of a water resistant manmade fibre.DACan dislodge washing machine and therefore wont spin, which defeats the object. HOWEVER, it did collect fibres!!

14 out of 15 found this review helpful

Did you find this review helpful?  

4/ 5 statrs
Submitted by   on 8th Dec 2019

Verified product owner

i use it for my man made materials, and those things that a fragile in the wash.

3 out of 6 found this review helpful

Did you find this review helpful?  

3/ 5 statrs
Submitted by   on 26th Nov 2019

Verified product owner

Was disappointed they were so small, especially as you are only allowed to half fill them. You need to use two with every load in my washing machine or you use too much water. It did not seem to collect anything.rnI soon realised that all the washing has to go in these, because even 100% cotton has silly polyester labels. If you do not put two in they tend to make your machine rock a lot on the spin. because the clothes are not allowed free flow, the drum gets easily unbalanced.

34 out of 35 found this review helpful

Did you find this review helpful?  

1/ 5 statrs
Submitted by   on 20th Nov 2019

Verified product owner

Would rate this zero stars if I could. Just washed 2 fleeces in it. They formed themselves into one sodden lump which would not spin dry properly as the bag created an unbalanced load. Luckily I was at home to stop the spin cycle or it could have broken my washing machine. No fibres to be found inside either. Donít waste your money. Please, someone, invent something that does the job better.

21 out of 21 found this review helpful

Did you find this review helpful?  

5/ 5 statrs
Submitted by   on 19th Oct 2019

Verified product owner

Great idea, we have 2 now and use them for all or synthetic fabric clothes. Also protects your laundry in the wash.

13 out of 13 found this review helpful

Did you find this review helpful?  

5/ 5 statrs
Submitted by   on 15th Sep 2019

Iíve used this three times a week for four weeks now and have been extremely pleased with the results: fibres have collected with every wash . Itís shocking,. I just wish they made one big enough to wash large blankets/throws.

29 out of 29 found this review helpful

Did you find this review helpful?  

1/ 5 statrs
Submitted by   on 5th Sep 2019

Verified product owner

I was very disappointed, having used the bag for a variety of clothing types for three weeks and found no fibres at all to clear. Money wasted!

11 out of 19 found this review helpful

Did you find this review helpful?  

3/ 5 statrs
Submitted by   on 11th Aug 2019

Verified product owner

I would have liked to have given this 5 stars as I was initially quite pleased with it when I purchased it in March and probably used it once/twice a week max (I don't have many synthetic items, just a few sportswear and the odd fleece). However, it has already torn in multiple places and I would have thought it would have lasted longer than 4 months.

43 out of 44 found this review helpful

Did you find this review helpful?  

4/ 5 statrs
Submitted by   on 22nd Jun 2019

Verified product owner

i bought this in my quest to reduce micro plastics from the tonnes of washing i have to do. i now use this for the washable mattress protector, fleece, recycled plastic clothing and i haven't seen my build up yet, but its microfibres, so feel i need to give it a while. it's expensive but we only have 1 planet so we have to look after it.

26 out of 27 found this review helpful

Did you find this review helpful?  

4/ 5 statrs
Submitted by   on 17th Jun 2019

I purchase one of these from Germany - very glad Ethical SUperstore now stock them. If your clothes are new you probably won't get many fibres coming off, but most of my clothes are second hand and fleeces are probably the worst culprit for shedding fibres - sadly it was the fleece lining on my cloth nappies that shed the most :(rnBut happy these fibres weren't going into the water system. The bag probably lasted about 18 months before it started to tear rendering it useless but I'm happy to replace it.

39 out of 39 found this review helpful

Did you find this review helpful?  

5/ 5 statrs
Submitted by   on 23rd Mar 2019

Iíve been using a Guppyfriend Washing Bag for over 4 months and yes, it really does work! The fact microfibres from our synthetic clothing ends up in the worldís rivers and oceans should be a huge concern to every one of us. Anything we can do to reduce this problem should be done and now.rnA bonus is the Guppyfriend bag also reduces wear and tear on clothing. rnI recommend this product!

54 out of 58 found this review helpful

Did you find this review helpful?  

2/ 5 statrs
Submitted by   on 20th Mar 2019

Verified product owner

I have used this bag on numerous occasions and have not detected any build-up of fibres inside it at all. Items wash perfectly well but I am not convinced it is stopping any fibres - hence the 2 star rating. I will continue to use it but based on experience so far, it may be a total waste of time.

42 out of 48 found this review helpful

Did you find this review helpful?  

2 Questions

Viewing all Questions ordered by  

Rae  asked this question on 24th Nov 2018

Q: Does the bag itself release any fibres? rnWhat percentage of microfibres escape? rnWhat research has been done on the bag? rnHow long does it last? rnHow is it disposed of? rnThanks

A: Hi, Thanks for the query. Lifespan depends on the amount you use it. If you follow the washing instructions and use conservatively, then you should get a years worth of washes from it. The GuppyFriend uses monofilaments, which are more similar to sticks than fibres, and do not shed at all. If damaged, the zipper of this GuppyFriend can potentially release a very small amount of fibres during a wash. Rigorous research has been conducted by Fraunhofer Institut UMSICHT and the German Textile Research Institute, DTNW. They have found that the GuppyFriend prevents 79% of partly synthetic clothing fibres from escaping and 86% of wholly synthetic textile fibres from escaping. The GuppyFriend can also be recycled after use. Everything apart from the zipper can be recycled as normal, or sent back to GuppyFriend themselves to repurpose for future washing bags. Hope this helps, Kind Regards

113 out of 114 found this question and answer helpful.

Did you find this Q&A helpful? Yes No

Meo  asked this question on 13th Mar 2019

Q: Can this product be used with my 'eco-egg' laundry washer?

A: Hi, Thanks for the query. Guppyfriend washing bags work best when paired with liquid detergent, so ecoballs and ecoeggs would not clean effectively on their own. Hope this helps,

94 out of 95 found this question and answer helpful.

Did you find this Q&A helpful? Yes No