ECO FRIENDLY / HEALTH & WELLNESS

Ecoballs - 1000 Washes - Pack of 3 Reviews

From: Ecozone ID19571

Sales Rank in Laundry: 6Rated 4.3 out of 5127 customer e-Views » 
List price
£19.99

Our price
£14.99
You save £5.00 (25%)

Tick In Stock : Available for despatch next working day Gift wrap available

PURCHASE OPTIONS

This item is worth 75 reward points


Delivery FAQ »DELIVERY OPTIONS

  • FREE Standard UK Delivery on all orders over £50
  • Only available for UK delivery

There are 127 e-Views written by our customers, and 56 customer questions that been answered by our staff for Ecoballs - 1000 Washes - Pack of 3

e-Views about the Ecoballs - 1000 Washes - Pack of 3back to top »

127

Number of e-Views

Rated 4.3 out of 5

Average Rating

Join in the discussion by writing an e-View, and  Write your own review
receive 10 Reward Points for every approved submission

You are currently viewing all 127 e-Views in order of

Profile Picture

Rated 5 out of 5
Submitted by Gill B on 24th Nov 2014
Tick Verified product owner
i have used these for some years, very pleased with them
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionate
Profile Picture

Rated 5 out of 5
Submitted by Sharon A on 20th Nov 2014
Tick Verified product owner
A very good Eco friendly and cost effective way of washing clothes.
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionate
Profile Picture

Rated 5 out of 5
Submitted by Amanda H on 11th Nov 2014
Tick Verified product owner
Wasn't sure if they would work but they are brilliant - no more nasty washing liquid!
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionate
Profile Picture

Rated 4 out of 5
Submitted by Jacqueline S on 22nd Sep 2014
Tick Verified product owner
At present I am using the balls for woollen items as these need care, I think.
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionateThis e-View is rated: Helpful (2)  Passionate (0)  
Profile Picture

Rated 4 out of 5
Submitted by Anitabach on 15th Sep 2014
Tick Verified product owner
Excellent alternative to powder for skin with allergies etc. But not good on tough stains. Works out much cheaper than powder too. My original ecoballs had a sponge ring to deaden the noise in the machine. These don't.
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionateThis e-View is rated: Helpful (1)  Passionate (0)  
Profile Picture

Rated 5 out of 5
Submitted by David W on 3rd Sep 2014
Tick Verified product owner
Prompt efficient service and delivery. Excellent product, no messy powder.
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionateThis e-View is rated: Helpful (1)  Passionate (1)  
Profile Picture

Rated 5 out of 5
Submitted by SAC on 18th Jul 2014
Tick Verified product owner
It contains a small stain remover. Balls are smaller than the ones used to be. Some dirty ones can be used with small amount of detergent. It makes the water different for washing even with little detergent. It is nice you don't have to decide all or not. It helps reducing the usage of detergent for sure.
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionateThis e-View is rated: Helpful (1)  Passionate (1)  
Profile Picture

Rated 5 out of 5
Submitted by Chrissie on 25th Jun 2014
Tick Verified product owner
used in the Washing machine, always get a good wash from these ecoballs. Great product.
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionateThis e-View is rated: Helpful (1)  Passionate (1)  
Profile Picture

Rated 5 out of 5
Submitted by Claudia G on 25th May 2014
Tick Verified product owner
I used the product in my washing machine and it work perfect! I certainly I would recommend this product to anyone.
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionateThis e-View is rated: Helpful (1)  Passionate (1)  
Profile Picture

Rated 3 out of 5
Submitted by Chris on 6th May 2014
Tick Verified product owner
They do a great job and are more environmental and convenient than lugging wash powders home all the time. Also, your clothes don't smell or cause allergic reactions afterwards. However, two of my wash balls broke and leaked tiny balls when they should still have had lots of life left in them - I hadn't even had to use the spares which were supplied before this happened.
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionateThis e-View is rated: Helpful (2)  Passionate (1)  
Profile Picture

Rated 5 out of 5
Submitted by Lesley R on 7th Apr 2014
Tick Verified product owner
Loved the ecoballs. Bought same a couple of years ago. only problem, after refilling once, couldn't get them open to refill the next time. You seem to have updated the product, so hoping that the new model is easier to refill
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionateThis e-View is rated: Helpful (2)  Passionate (0)  
Profile Picture

Rated 5 out of 5
Submitted by Robert P on 13th Mar 2014
Tick Verified product owner
Excellent product.
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionate
Profile Picture

Rated 5 out of 5
Submitted by Gill J on 23rd Feb 2014
Tick Verified product owner
it's replacement for previous EcoBalls which I have used over the past sbesn years as directed with my machine washloads.
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionate
Profile Picture

Rated 5 out of 5
Submitted by Giuseppe F on 23rd Feb 2014
Tick Verified product owner
Great product
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionate
Profile Picture

Rated 5 out of 5
Submitted by Catherine W on 28th Jan 2014
Tick Verified product owner
I cannot see any difference from using washing powder. Wish I had tried them before now.
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionate
Profile Picture

Rated 5 out of 5
Submitted by Elizabeth J on 2nd Jan 2014
Tick Verified product owner
I have used successfully for years - also bought them as gifts.
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionate
Profile Picture

Rated 3 out of 5
Submitted by Susan T on 18th Jul 2013
Tick Verified product owner
A) IN THE WASHING MACHINE
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionateThis e-View is rated: Helpful (1)  Passionate (0)  
Profile Picture

Rated 4 out of 5
Submitted by Maria P on 9th Jun 2013
Tick Verified product owner
The laundry balls do just what they claim to do. So far I've been very happy with the results. However, I miss the pretty smell of laundry powders and conditioners.
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionateThis e-View is rated: Helpful (2)  Passionate (1)  
Profile Picture

Rated 5 out of 5
Submitted by Susan R on 7th Jun 2013
Tick Verified product owner
I've started using these with all wash loads especially as my youngest has eczema. Not used washing powder since. Clothes do seem softer and although they might not get all stains out no more or less efficient in that sense than washing powder. As washing powder can sometimes not get stains out. Using the cream stain remover helps with this.
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionateThis e-View is rated: Helpful (1)  Passionate (1)  
Profile Picture

Rated 4 out of 5
Submitted by Shu K on 6th Jun 2013
Tick Verified product owner
recommend to family and friends
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionateThis e-View is rated: Helpful (1)  Passionate (1)  
Profile Picture

Rated 2 out of 5
Submitted by Melissa M on 29th May 2013
Tick Verified product owner
1st one broke after 2 washes. Think I might have s defective batch.
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionateThis e-View is rated: Helpful (2)  Passionate (0)  
Profile Picture

Rated 5 out of 5
Submitted by Linda R on 23rd May 2013
Tick Verified product owner
Have been using Eco Balls for about 5years, not long found out about Ethical Superstore am very impressed. Eco Balls are very good, wash very well and are even better now you can use Ecozone fabric conditioner with them. Have told a lot of people about them, as they are very good for your skin, and I think they get clothes cleaner than washing with a detergent. To me other detergents seem to just coat the clothes and stains seem to wash in rather than out. They are very economic and are good for the machine and environment.
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionateThis e-View is rated: Helpful (3)  Passionate (0)  
Profile Picture

Rated 4 out of 5
Submitted by Lauren G on 12th May 2013
Tick Verified product owner
Used these for a couple of weeks and our washing comes out clean and fresh. No complaints so far, will definitely keep using.
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionateThis e-View is rated: Helpful (2)  Passionate (0)  
Profile Picture

Rated 5 out of 5
Submitted by Janet S on 11th May 2013
Tick Verified product owner
I would have recommended these to several friends as I am so pleased with them.
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionateThis e-View is rated: Helpful (2)  Passionate (0)  
Profile Picture

Rated 4 out of 5
Submitted by Lesley G on 1st May 2013
Tick Verified product owner
Very good for lightly soiled clothes and freshening items up, however not so good on grass and mud stains.
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionateThis e-View is rated: Helpful (1)  Passionate (0)  
Profile Picture

Rated 4 out of 5
Submitted by Isabella B on 29th Apr 2013
Tick Verified product owner
Really like these. Don't quite trust with really smelly/dirty loads but fine for linen and freshening up my clothes. I often add a little ecover softener to just give my laundry a nice fresh smell too.
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionateThis e-View is rated: Helpful (0)  Passionate (1)  
Profile Picture

Rated 5 out of 5
Submitted by Christine C on 21st Apr 2013
Tick Verified product owner
use these all the time now excellent product would recommend to all
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionateThis e-View is rated: Helpful (0)  Passionate (1)  
Profile Picture

Rated 4 out of 5
Submitted by Sarah M on 9th Apr 2013
Tick Verified product owner
Bought these as my baby has eczema, cleans most things but struggles to get rid of Calpol scent!
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionate
Profile Picture

Rated 5 out of 5
Submitted by Caroline T on 9th Apr 2013
Tick Verified product owner
These are amazing! All clothes are clean - including a t shirt stained with gravy, and a Lycra top which was smelling super sweaty after a 10mile run. I really recommend anyone to try these. For whites they work well with the Ecozone bleach.
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionate
Profile Picture

Rated 5 out of 5
Submitted by Maria M on 9th Apr 2013
Tick Verified product owner
In washing machine to wash clothes...family & friends...
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionateThis e-View is rated: Helpful (0)  Passionate (1)  
Profile Picture

Rated 5 out of 5
Submitted by Gillian on 1st Apr 2013
Tick Verified product owner
I bought these for my children as we have used them for years.
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionateThis e-View is rated: Helpful (0)  Passionate (1)  
Profile Picture

Rated 5 out of 5
Submitted by Laura M on 27th Mar 2013
Tick Verified product owner
Use these for all my laundry and with 2 teenagers at home the washing machine is my most used appliance. The ecozone balls clean the washing great and the stain remover which comes with the kit is the best I've ever used!I would recommend this to all environmentally conscious people. A great product!
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionate
Profile Picture

Rated 4 out of 5
Submitted by Denise C on 23rd Mar 2013
Tick Verified product owner
very good on laundry that only needs a light, quick wash, but not for soiled or stained articles.

















How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionateThis e-View is rated: Helpful (1)  Passionate (0)  
Profile Picture

CLEAN laundry

Rated 4 out of 5
Submitted by anonymous on 12th Mar 2013
Tick Verified product owner
Fed up with searching for non perfumed washing powder and worrying about the chemicals, i was happy to find these. It's great that you an use a shorter cycle too, so saves money.
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionateThis e-View is rated: Helpful (0)  Passionate (1)  
Profile Picture

Rated 5 out of 5
Submitted by Andrew L on 8th Mar 2013
Tick Verified product owner
i suffer from washing powder eczema/allergy this is the best product for my skin and prevents flare ups and gets my clothes very clean
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionateThis e-View is rated: Helpful (1)  Passionate (3)  
Profile Picture

Rated 4 out of 5
Submitted by Sue J on 8th Mar 2013
Tick Verified product owner
Good to have an alternative and some things ave washed well but not all have come out as good as I would have hoped.
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionateThis e-View is rated: Helpful (1)  Passionate (0)  
Profile Picture

Rated 5 out of 5
Submitted by Cami P on 25th Feb 2013
Tick Verified product owner
Excellent quality , will recommend to family and friends
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionateThis e-View is rated: Helpful (0)  Passionate (1)  
Profile Picture

Rated 5 out of 5
Submitted by anonymous on 20th Feb 2013
Tick Verified product owner
Regularly use this product and recommended to my student daughter.
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionateThis e-View is rated: Helpful (0)  Passionate (2)  
Profile Picture

Rated 4 out of 5
Submitted by anonymous on 16th Feb 2013
Tick Verified product owner
Used for towels you need some fabric softener but good for clothes
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionateThis e-View is rated: Helpful (1)  Passionate (0)  
Profile Picture

Rated 5 out of 5
Submitted by John C on 16th Feb 2013
Tick Verified product owner
Bought an eco ball for ourselves, then bought 4 more, one for each of our sons and their families, then bought two more for their extended families. No more powder sticking in the washing machine tray and the wash is just as good. Will definitely save money using the balls, will have to wait to see if we get 1000 washes
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionateThis e-View is rated: Helpful (0)  Passionate (1)  
Profile Picture

Rated 5 out of 5
Submitted by Anne F on 15th Feb 2013
Tick Verified product owner
much better than washing powder and washingliquids
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionateThis e-View is rated: Helpful (0)  Passionate (1)  
Profile Picture

Rated 5 out of 5
Submitted by Roderick M on 13th Feb 2013
Tick Verified product owner
ecoballs rule no harsh chemicals on your clothes
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionateThis e-View is rated: Helpful (1)  Passionate (1)  
Profile Picture

Rated 5 out of 5
Submitted by Amanda D on 9th Feb 2013
Tick Verified product owner
Was worried these would not clean efficiently- but I needn't have. They are brilliant and I will NEVER go back to the chemical powders and liquids again. Recommend to anyone, so worth the initial outlay.
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionateThis e-View is rated: Helpful (0)  Passionate (1)  
Profile Picture

Great product

Rated 5 out of 5
Submitted by DavidM on 4th Feb 2013
Tick Ethical Superstore staff review
recently bought these and used them a few times and my clothes come out clean and smell fresh. cant recommend highly enough! and with 1000 washes these should last me years and save alot of money on powders and liquid.
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionateThis e-View is rated: Helpful (0)  Passionate (1)  
Profile Picture

Rated 5 out of 5
Submitted by Berni G on 25th Jan 2013
Tick Verified product owner
In all my washes. And recently I bought some more for a friend who has eczema - so washing with these will hopefully be better for their skin than using detergents
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionateThis e-View is rated: Helpful (0)  Passionate (1)  
Profile Picture

Rated 4 out of 5
Submitted by Audrey B on 23rd Jan 2013
Tick Verified product owner
Seem to work effectively.
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionateThis e-View is rated: Helpful (0)  Passionate (1)  
Profile Picture

Rated 4 out of 5
Submitted by Elizabeth H on 21st Jan 2013
Tick Verified product owner
for clothes washing low temp. Good results
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionateThis e-View is rated: Helpful (0)  Passionate (1)  
Profile Picture

Rated 5 out of 5
Submitted by Suzy P on 8th Jan 2013
Tick Verified product owner
People don't believe that these balls can be effective, but they work like a dream.
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionateThis e-View is rated: Helpful (0)  Passionate (1)  
Profile Picture

Rated 5 out of 5
Submitted by Chris M on 8th Dec 2012
Tick Verified product owner
Fine, easily used and effective
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionateThis e-View is rated: Helpful (0)  Passionate (2)  
Profile Picture

Rated 5 out of 5
Submitted by bio hand wash on 27th Oct 2012
Tick Verified product owner
good
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionateThis e-View is rated: Helpful (1)  Passionate (0)  
Profile Picture

Rated 4 out of 5
Submitted by Carol C on 23rd Oct 2012
Tick Verified product owner
In washing machine and have recommended them to my daughters
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionateThis e-View is rated: Helpful (0)  Passionate (1)  
Profile Picture

Rated 5 out of 5
Submitted by Amy S on 22nd Oct 2012
Tick Verified product owner
My mum has used these for years, and now I know I'm grown up as I've chosen to use them too. They are brilliant! My 2 year old son loves watching them in the washing machine too.
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionateThis e-View is rated: Helpful (0)  Passionate (1)  
Profile Picture

Rated 4 out of 5
Submitted by anonymous on 17th Oct 2012
Tick Verified product owner
I have been using eco balls for a year now, green colour, and I like them, save a lot of money and environment. I have bought these for my friend for her birthday. So hope she will enjoy them as much I do.
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionateThis e-View is rated: Helpful (2)  Passionate (0)  
Profile Picture

Rated 5 out of 5
Submitted by Catriona T on 11th Oct 2012
Tick Verified product owner
So far, so good! Needed to ditch detergent as it was building up on clothes & irritating baby's skin & my eczema hands. Clothes are just as clean as with non bio & much softer. Clothes smell clean - not masked by perfume. So simple to use!
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionateThis e-View is rated: Helpful (1)  Passionate (0)  
Profile Picture

Rated 5 out of 5
Submitted by Stephanie B on 9th Oct 2012
Tick Verified product owner
Money savers and great for baby clothes
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionateThis e-View is rated: Helpful (0)  Passionate (1)  
Profile Picture

Rated 5 out of 5
Submitted by Jackie on 8th Oct 2012
Tick Verified product owner
Great product for people with eczema, no need to use soap powder anymore, saving the environment as well. I have been usingthemfor years, saving money too. Bought these for my son at university to use.
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionateThis e-View is rated: Helpful (1)  Passionate (0)  
Profile Picture

Rated 3 out of 5
Submitted by Jane B on 29th Sep 2012
Tick Verified product owner
The ecoballs seem to work ok although do not get all stains out I also bought some for my daughter who uses them on her baby's clothes as she has excema, and they do not remove the stains, she is looking for a stain remover that is kind to her skin
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionateThis e-View is rated: Helpful (1)  Passionate (2)  
Profile Picture

Rated 5 out of 5
Submitted by Pauline D on 26th Sep 2012
Tick Verified product owner
I have used Ecoballs before and so I was pleased to find replacements
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionateThis e-View is rated: Helpful (0)  Passionate (1)  
Profile Picture

Rated 4 out of 5
Submitted by MaggieShanks on 17th Sep 2012
Tick Verified product owner
Excellent value for money for anyone who wants a greener lifestyle. Beautifully clean clothes too
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionateThis e-View is rated: Helpful (0)  Passionate (1)  
Profile Picture

Rated 4 out of 5
Submitted by Wendy B on 14th Sep 2012
Tick Verified product owner
Have used for several years for all washing and have been very happy with the results. No artificial perfumes so you so have to get used to the lack of this.
Need the whitener (see below) to get good results with whites.
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionateThis e-View is rated: Helpful (1)  Passionate (1)  
Profile Picture

Rated 4 out of 5
Submitted by LuannHK on 3rd Sep 2012
Tick Verified product owner
good enough for my daily wash
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionateThis e-View is rated: Helpful (0)  Passionate (1)  
Profile Picture

Rated 4 out of 5
Submitted by Sunny D on 19th Aug 2012
Tick Verified product owner
Am trying these to see the difference from the 150 system, they are good but I think my husbands stinky work clothes felt fresher with the 150 system, but I have only used them twice and his clothes might have been worse than normal.
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionateThis e-View is rated: Helpful (0)  Passionate (1)  
Profile Picture

Rated 5 out of 5
Submitted by Rhonda S on 19th Aug 2012
Tick Verified product owner
I have been using eco balls for 15 years and would not use anything else
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionateThis e-View is rated: Helpful (0)  Passionate (1)  
Profile Picture

Rated 3 out of 5
Submitted by Frank S on 9th Aug 2012
Tick Verified product owner
We use product for Launderette service washes to reduce water used
Early days yet but so far working well, clothes are softer.
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionateThis e-View is rated: Helpful (1)  Passionate (1)  
Profile Picture

Goodness Gracious Great Balls Of Cleaning !

Rated 5 out of 5
Submitted by Romulinx2 on 18th Jul 2012
Tick Verified product owner
Easy to use and they work. The stain remover also works. Have told people about the balls, and it works out very cheap for me.
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionateThis e-View is rated: Helpful (0)  Passionate (1)  
Profile Picture

Rated 5 out of 5
Submitted by Bence G on 18th Jul 2012
Tick Verified product owner
Great, use it all around, except for very stubborn dirt it works fine!
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionateThis e-View is rated: Helpful (0)  Passionate (1)  
Profile Picture

Rated 5 out of 5
Submitted by Georgina M on 24th Jun 2012
Tick Verified product owner
have used them for 3 years and needed to renew them they are excellent
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionateThis e-View is rated: Helpful (0)  Passionate (1)  
Profile Picture

Rated 5 out of 5
Submitted by Lakshmi S on 7th Apr 2012
Tick Verified product owner
Good value
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionateThis e-View is rated: Helpful (0)  Passionate (1)  
Profile Picture

Rated 5 out of 5
Submitted by Russell W on 12th Mar 2012
Tick Verified product owner
Use for household laundry - very effective
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionateThis e-View is rated: Helpful (0)  Passionate (1)  
Profile Picture

I love it!

Rated 5 out of 5
Submitted by Cavanagh20 on 26th Jan 2012
The Ecozone Ecoballs work amazingly well, and have so far kept my clothes very clean (and that's with using only two of the balls at once, instead of the recommended three). The stain remover that came with the balls is also excellent. For saving money and doing one's bit for the environment, I would recommend this product for everyone!
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionateThis e-View is rated: Helpful (0)  Passionate (1)  
Profile Picture

Rebecca

Rated 5 out of 5
Submitted by Rebecca on 26th Jan 2012
Tick Verified product owner
I would highly recommend these. We have been using them over three years now and even have used them to wash nappies regularly, if you can believe it. It did take a short time to get used to not having the strong fragrance in the wash. But as my husband and I both have a strong sense of smell, we soon appreciated the truly clean smell instead of perfumes sometimes only partially masking leftover odors. Through a lot of use and especially with the nappies we've found that adding a bit of oxygen bleach (like Ecover) adds that bit more odor killing and cleaning power to make us never want to go back to washing powders. We make sure to put some stain remover on spots (Ecover again which adds a nice natural lavender scent to the wash). We haven't missed fabric softener either, although we dry our towels in a tumble dryer with dryer balls. Everything else is soft enough hanging up. Making this one change in your household can make a massive reduction in the amount of indoor air pollution your family is exposed to through the fragrances in washing powders and softeners. It will also save you a LOT of money. I think everyone should use them.
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionateThis e-View is rated: Helpful (4)  Passionate (1)  
Profile Picture

how to save water using ecoballs

Rated 5 out of 5
Submitted by foxontherun on 16th Jan 2012
Tick Verified product owner
I timed every step of wash- rince and centrifugate cycle(= 1 time effort). Wrote this information down into a table for every program. This sits on top of my machine now. When I'm at home I set an alarmclock after the machine has started, so I can stop the machine after the first rince cycle, moving the programe directly to centrifugate, and done. Same can be achieved using a timer that cuts electricity supply if not at home. I checked how much water was used for every rince cycle = +/- 20 liters. Using my machine averadge 10 times a month = 20*2*10= 400 l of water saved per month.rnI do load the machine up to 85-90% not 3/4. Deal with stains upfront. I make sure there is enough water in the machine at the start, generaly I add some. Clothes must be 'going through' the water by turning. My experience: wash 40° or 30° or cold(in summer)gives the best results. I stopped using 60°. For white I add now and then some Oxygen whitner.rnI have only cleaned my machine once 90°. Every 3 to 4 machines I add 4 drops of 100% essential oil(lavendel or eucalyptus).Preventing, to my opinion,the metal smell in the machine.rnHope this can be usefull to others.
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionateThis e-View is rated: Helpful (0)  Passionate (2)  
Profile Picture

Perfect

Rated 5 out of 5
Submitted by MAhenda on 10th Jan 2012
I was told about ecoballs a couple of years ago and have only just decided to try them. Wow. They are absolutley on the ball for laundry. Every wash has been perfect. The clothes are clean and that's all I want. The negative reviews are pretty well obviously written by detergent manufacturers who - er - would be out of business if everyone bought ecoballs. I have two teenage sons, a sports loving husband and a dog and I have very high standards of cleanliness. I am happy. You will be too. And, oh, by the way, I've already saved a fortune.
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionateThis e-View is rated: Helpful (0)  Passionate (1)  
Profile Picture

balls broke

Rated 1 out of 5
Submitted by havantai on 5th Jan 2012
one of my eco balls broke while being used in the washing machine. some of the granules went into the space between the drum and the washing machine. while using certain wash programmes i can hear a grinding noise. its either call out a washing machine repair man to remove the granules or wait till they dissolve or grind to a pulp!
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionateThis e-View is rated: Helpful (1)  Passionate (1)  
Profile Picture

Great but have a back up

Rated 4 out of 5
Submitted by Cescababs on 11th Dec 2011
Tick Verified product owner
Absolutely great they are spreading through the family. But have a back up for bad stains and smells.
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionateThis e-View is rated: Helpful (0)  Passionate (2)  
Profile Picture

Really useful Product!

Rated 5 out of 5
Submitted by Pepsi200 on 2nd Dec 2011
I have used eco wash balls for three years now and find them to be both effective as a cleaning product and kind to my washing machine, leaving no dirty build up in the washing powder/liquid drawers. It also saves ££s in cleaning products!!
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionateThis e-View is rated: Helpful (0)  Passionate (1)  
Profile Picture

Has anyone actually claimed up to how they really work?

Rated 4 out of 5
Submitted by Adri on 7th Nov 2011
Tick Verified product owner
They do the job of cleaning your clothes just fine and I still use the quick wash cycle. But if you like your clothes to be scented you'll have to take the balls out and run on a quick spin with fabric conditioner to get them smelling of something especially in the winter when clothes can smell damp! I am a scientist and I can't quite get down to how they truly work....there are too many different explanations that require clarity. We've put it down to mechanical battering of the clothes.....so for stains you need something more powerfull that just these.
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionateThis e-View is rated: Helpful (1)  Passionate (1)  
Profile Picture

Sorry to be the dissenting voice!

Rated 2 out of 5
Submitted by Kay on 9th Sep 2010
Tick Verified product owner
Firstly I would like to say that I try very hard to be as eco-careful as possible - there are easy changes which make a difference without compromise. However, this is not one of them, in my opinion.rnrnI don't think the balls get clothes clean in the same way as detergent, but my main complaint is definitely the smell. Most reviewers have mentioned this, but have suggested that it builds up after time. In my experience, the washing fails to smell fresh and clean even after just one wash without detergent and fabric conditioner. I am happy to use the less damaging types of detergent, such as Ecover. My Ecoballs have been consigned to the back of a shelf in the utility room.
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionateThis e-View is rated: Helpful (4)  Passionate (1)  
Profile Picture

fresh, clean and soft

Rated 5 out of 5
Submitted by marthalouise on 20th May 2010
Tick Verified product owner
I've recentley received some eco-balls as a gift. I have found that they are leaving my clothes fresher, softer and feeling cleaner than any of the washing liquids or washing powders that I have previously used.
I work in a school and my partner has a demanding 12 hour shift job, we have both found that the ecoballs are effectively cleaning our clothes and they remain feeling fresh whilst wearing.
Additionally, we are instructed not to fully fill the drum - which some reviews count as a negative - it has always been my understanding that you shouldn't fully fill the drum anyway.
M-L.
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionateThis e-View is rated: Helpful (4)  Passionate (1)  
Profile Picture

Eco-converted

Rated 5 out of 5
Submitted by Liz on 5th Mar 2010
I've always been sceptical about the effectiveness of eco-friendly laundry detergents. No longer! Not only are the Ecozone Ecoballs effective at cleaning even my husband's work shirts they are so easy to use. Not only that they're good for the enviroment too. Thank you.
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionateThis e-View is rated: Helpful (2)  Passionate (1)  
Profile Picture

Ecoballs Rock!!!

Rated 5 out of 5
Submitted by Shine62 on 3rd Oct 2009
Tick Verified product owner
I was fortunate enough to buy my Ecoballs when they were on special offer here, this summer. I'd promised myself some for ages, but had no idea how good they would be. My first use of them was at the local laundrette (much to the amusement of the owner!) but unfortunately, while the balls did a brilliant job, my clothes smelt of the residual detergent/conditioner present from other people's washes! As I don't have a machine at home and tend to hand wash most things, I wondered when I would next get to use my balls. Hand Washing, even with eco-friendly detergent, is laborious to say the least - all that rinsing! So, last weekend I thought I would experiment, filled my plastic storage box 'washbowl' with slightly more water than usual, dropped in my clothes, my ecoballs and agitated the lot for several minutes (this was actually fun!) and then sniffed various items (!!) until I was satisfied that they were odourless as well as clean. As the water seemed a just little murky, I gave everything one quick rinse in the sink before giving them a quick whiz in the spin dryer. Even though I had removed the balls as well, there was still enough 'fizz' left to wash a couple more 'loads' before ditching the water. The water extracted from the spinner was actually clear enough for me to risk using it to water my houseplants - no casualties so far! The result from my 'experiment' was that I got hell of a lot more washing done in less time than usual and, although I used slightly more water for the 'wash', I still used less overall, due to less rinsing (and then I did not have to rinse every item!). Even at water temperatures between lukewarm and cold, I got great results and never have my clothes smelt (like rain!) or felt so good! My wash tube brimmeth over!!! I may don a pair of (fairtrade!) rubber gloves for future hand washes, just as a precaution, but that is it! From now on, I get my Ecoballs out whether washing by hand or machine!!

This product features in Shine62's list(s) Favourites

How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionateThis e-View is rated: Helpful (4)  Passionate (7)  
Profile Picture

Less shopping!

Rated 5 out of 5
Submitted by MD on 26th Aug 2009
Tick Verified product owner
Besides the obvious eco benefits, we've found these balls save a trip to the shop every couple of weeks, as we needed to get our liquid refills previously. And what's more, they work - and so does the stain remover which comes with them. Even the mother in-law was convinced, she is now a big fan as they save her a fortune!
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionateThis e-View is rated: Helpful (0)  Passionate (3)  
Profile Picture

Cleans heavily soiled nappies!!

Rated 5 out of 5
Submitted by Rebecca on 16th Jul 2009
I have been using my ecoballs for a while now, but only for every day washing. When it came to my every other day nappy wash, I used Ecover detergent, which worked great. Until I ran out. So, for the first time I put my load of soiled, dry pailed nappies in the wash with the Ecoballs.
They came out just as clean, fresh and stain free as always.
Well done my little helpers!
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionateThis e-View is rated: Helpful (3)  Passionate (1)  
Profile Picture

solving problems

Rated 5 out of 5
Submitted by archieruby on 25th Jun 2009
eco balls are great and do a marvellous job. But once in a while [month or 2] I put through a wash of whites with a detergent simply to brighten them a bit. I have set up grey water system to water the garden with the washing machine outflow, it goes into a settling tank down the garden and then through some drip hoses into the fruit and veg gardens. This has been running for about 4 years to excellent effect, in fact 2 years ago I used it to water the lawn. I know that strictly speaking the water should not be put on the plants so it just goes on the roots rather than leaves. In winter when it doesn't need to go on the garden, it runs by gravity into the soakaway area of our septic tank. Recommended them to a friend and her grandchild who has eczema had an almost miracle cure when her clothes had no detergent residue on them.
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionateThis e-View is rated: Helpful (3)  Passionate (1)  
Profile Picture

Great Product for Washing

Rated 4 out of 5
Submitted by Caroline on 15th May 2009
Tick Verified product owner
I have found the Ecoballs to be excellent for washing. Very good on colours and for whites I usually add some natural bleach or baking soda to remove the many food stains from my children. Clothes smell fresh and I don't need conditioner.
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionateThis e-View is rated: Helpful (1)  Passionate (0)  
Profile Picture

Great item which lessens enviro impact by dumping less toxic waste in our sewage systems.

Rated 5 out of 5
Submitted by Pete09 on 14th May 2009
Not sure they actually *clean* things any more than just a *normal* wash with no soap! However they do expose the fact that we don't always need to use soap whenever we wash clothes cars or even ourselves. On that basis they are excellent. We do one in every six washes with these. Then we we use Ecoleaf laundry liquid. So save a fortune over usual laundry products. You should only ever fill your machine 2/3 anyway, the laundry needs space to work properly.

Saves money and saves the planet. How much better does it get?
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionate
Profile Picture

Still working...

Rated 4 out of 5
Submitted by Edmondo on 12th May 2009
Tick Verified product owner
I've been using these for well over a year now and I've had no problems at all.

I have to query anyone that says these do not work and leaves their clothes smelly. Maybe its just your machine? Who knows. The only time I ever got less than stellar results were when the balls were wearing out. I refilled and presto back to normal.

I've used these on my work shirts (white) at 40oC and they still cleaned fine. Actually I've even used these at the min temperature of the machine (below 30oC) and they've still worked.

They work much better than the powder or liquid I have used in the past. Clothes are definitely as clean and more fresh than before.

Its a shame that you cannot use these in greater than 60oC water temp though. I use other eco friendly liquid for those high temperature jobs. It's the one thing stopping me from giving a 5 rating.
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionateThis e-View is rated: Helpful (1)  Passionate (1)  
Profile Picture

no more detergent!

Rated 3 out of 5
Submitted by emmamum on 23rd Apr 2009
Tick Verified product owner
I like this product very much - no more chemical residue on the baby clothes!
Only three stars from me as I am disappointed to find I need to refill after three months - nowhere near the 1000 washes that it claims - more like 100. A shame as still a really good product.
I would recommend this product with the caution that it will need refills sooner than it claims.
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionateThis e-View is rated: Helpful (2)  Passionate (0)  
Profile Picture

Lovely jubbly little balls of mystical cleaning power!

Rated 5 out of 5
Submitted by Kookieshell on 16th Apr 2009
I can't understand why some people have given these balls such scathing reviews! I think they're great. Either the customers giving these reviews are putting too much in their machines and overloading the drum or they roll about in mud all day! I think they are great, they get your whites white and get rid of most light stains. Heavy stains will need some sort of stain remover but I think these clean as well as any soap powder.
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionateThis e-View is rated: Helpful (2)  Passionate (0)  
Profile Picture

Not too good at getting your whites white

Rated 1 out of 5
Submitted by greengages on 8th Apr 2009
Tick Verified product owner
We were really excited when we got these balls they seemed like a total no-brainer.

However, over time and even after refilling the balls and with using Ecover bleach, our whites turned grey.

We've gone back to using Ecover laundry liquid - much better.
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionateThis e-View is rated: Helpful (5)  Passionate (1)  
Profile Picture

Rated 4 out of 5
Submitted by anonymous on 10th Mar 2009
Tick Verified product owner
Done about 10 washes so far and the results are good. I agree with the restrictions on the load to let the balls circulate, but I think we tend to overload usually and so will improve washing efficiency and perhaps extend the life of the machine, It would not be an issue if water harvesting and solar water heating are employed.
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionateThis e-View is rated: Helpful (2)  Passionate (1)  
Profile Picture

Rated 5 out of 5
Submitted by anonymous on 29th Jan 2009
Highly recommended! They work and they save money on washing powder - its a no brainer!!

All of the family's clothes have come out clean and fresh. OK you have to do a 3/4 load but I probably never did a "full" load anyway. And as for washing your machine through once a month, well its advisable to do that with normal washing powder as well.

Its great to see something that is "green" and that saves money, normally being green costs that little bit more in time, money or effort.
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionateThis e-View is rated: Helpful (2)  Passionate (1)  
Profile Picture

Rated 5 out of 5
Submitted by Jason on 28th Jan 2009
Tick Verified product owner
Excellent product, has cleaned our clothes really well.

A previous reviewer has noted the requirement to do a 3/4 load and the inability to cut out the rinse cycle, which I agree with to some extent. Energy use aside though at least the balls mean that we are not adding pollutants to the water system from washing detergent.

With regard to washing the machine through at 95 degrees with 2 cups of vinegar once a month, well it is also advisable to do this when you use washing detergent anyway! It helps to clear limescale and detergent build ups within the machine. Washing liquid is particularly prone to building up within a washing machine and can be corrosive over the long term. Isn't it better to know that your washing machine is properly clean rather than just having any smells masked by the fagrance in your washing detergent?!?

Overall very pleased, I'd also recommend the magno ball and dryer balls. Worth the initial investment, will save a fortune in washing detergent and fabric softener.
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionateThis e-View is rated: Helpful (8)  Passionate (1)  
Profile Picture

Rated 1 out of 5
Submitted by Robert on 26th Jan 2009
A gimmick I'm afraid. These balls only work properly when fully immersed in water so that the stones within the ball can dissolve. Most people who will use these balls will most probably have an eco washing machine that uses no where near enough water to allow the balls to be fully immersed. The stones do dissolve, and you can tell this by them getting smaller over time and coming out of the ball and blocking your pump! But the rate of dissolution is nowhere near enough to clean clothes.

A wash that uses no detergent would probably do as good a job as a wash with these balls in.
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionateThis e-View is rated: Helpful (15)  Passionate (5)  
Profile Picture

Rated 3 out of 5
Submitted by Jennifer on 11th Jan 2009
Tick Verified product owner
These balls work very well on lightly soiled clothes but not so great on clothes that have been used for aerobics, pyjamas etc as they can sometimes still smell of sweat, I use them for all of my normal washes but have resorted to buying ecological powder for more heavy soiled clothes, and also you can only use a 3 quarter full load in your machine to allow for the balls to circulate properly, which for environmental reasons is difficult for my concience. Having said that It is stopping alot of detergent from ending up in the rivers and that is a very good thing, It also saves money and is gentle on delicate skin, so there is lots of good points too and I use them for about 2/3 of my washing. Would reccomend them as an addition to your washing products rather than replacing them completely.
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionateThis e-View is rated: Helpful (9)  Passionate (3)  
Profile Picture

Rated 3 out of 5
Submitted by Kio on 5th Jan 2009
Tick Verified product owner
These are OK, but they don't take stains out of dirty clothes, even when the cream provided is applied which is a fiddly business. It's much easier to simply spray on a stain remover and use laundry powder. I'm losing faith in my ecoballs because if they don't take out the stains I can see, I don't fully believe that they remove the dirt that I can't. They also had a bad effect on my machine-wash black suits, causing large black stains to come up on the material. I've been quite disappointed with their performance; I can't use them on black clothes because they mess up the colour and I can't use them on whites because they don't clean them completely. Wouldn't really recommend.
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionateThis e-View is rated: Helpful (15)  Passionate (1)  
Profile Picture

Rated 5 out of 5
Submitted by anonymous on 2nd Jan 2009
Tick Verified product owner
Anyone who says these don't work is not using them properly. If you don't overfill the machine so the water has room to circulate, they work just as well as soap, if not better. My husband and I have 2 children under 4 years old and both of us go to the gym regularly, so we have plenty of very dirty clothes! We'll never buy soap again. They work perfectly, buy them!!
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionateThis e-View is rated: Helpful (5)  Passionate (1)  
Profile Picture

Rated 4 out of 5
Submitted by anonymous on 3rd Dec 2008
Tick Verified product owner
Of course the balls do not make disappear the black stains on your cuffs or grease stains on shirts, especially children clothes, but when there is no thick stain the balls work perfectly well. I recommend to rub little stains off with any home soap and then put clothes into the machine just with the balls. No detergent nor softener. I am convinced they work!
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionateThis e-View is rated: Helpful (8)  Passionate (0)  
Profile Picture

Rated 1 out of 5
Submitted by Lera on 20th Nov 2008
Tick Verified product owner
I thought this would be an excellent idea, but unfortunately not. The ecoballs are not successful at removing organic material from the laundry - e.g. baby possets & cleaning soiled nappies. We use a 40 degrees wash in a hard water area, and will be passing the ecoballs on to someone who has very lightly soiled laundry.

The explanation of how they work is entertaining though. At one point it claims that the product reduces the size of the water molecules...
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionateThis e-View is rated: Helpful (4)  Passionate (0)  
Profile Picture

Rated 4 out of 5
Submitted by anonymous on 13th Nov 2008
Tick Verified product owner
Like other reviewers, we’re very impressed with the results of washing with eco-balls. However, there are a few things that we didn’t know until we received them – which we think purchasers should know about as they raise the question just how eco are eco-balls? First, you are advised only to fill your machine with three-quarters of a normal load, to allow the balls room to move around. So that means that for every three full loads we now have to do four washes. Secondly, you cannot use any water-saving function that your machine may have (other than cutting out a rinse, if you can). (We always use the time saver anyway, so no advantage there.) Thirdly, the instructions state that you can avoid a rinse cycle by using ‘Rinse Hold’. However on our machine, which is only two years old, ‘Rinse Hold’ does not mean ‘no rinse’ – it simply means the machine rinses and then holds i.e. leaves the water in so you can drain or spin later. Finally, the leaflet suggests that to clear your machine of old deposits in the pipes, and keep it free of limescale, you run an empty cycle, using vinegar for cleaning, once a month – at 95 degrees!

I still approve of these in principle – clean , easy, no chemicals, no packaging, and economy in direct comparison with powders. But overall, in terms of water and energy? Hmmm, the jury’s still out.
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionateThis e-View is rated: Helpful (86)  Passionate (6)  
Profile Picture

Rated 5 out of 5
Submitted by anonymous on 11th Nov 2008
Tick Verified product owner
The Eco balls are fantastic! I was really curious about how these balls work that's why I bought them and I am not disappointed! Even more I recommend them to everyone! The clothes are clean, fresh and even stubborn stains were removed. At the same time you're using eco-friendly product and save money. Impressive!
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionateThis e-View is rated: Helpful (12)  Passionate (2)  
Profile Picture

Rated 5 out of 5
Submitted by Johanna on 28th Oct 2008
I was pleasantly surprised how good these are. I use them at 35% on a quick wash which is fine. I use powder from time to time to get the nice clean smell but apart from that they work really well.
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionateThis e-View is rated: Helpful (3)  Passionate (0)  
Profile Picture

Rated 1 out of 5
Submitted by anonymous on 21st Sep 2008
Tick Verified product owner
After having read the reviews I was very enthusiastic about trying these out. As soon as they were delivered I tried them out but was very disappointed with the results - They did not clean my clothes well and my T shirts I go to the gym with still smelt of sweat! Needless to say I returned them. The Magnoball however does seem to work, so I will stick to that and ecological detergent!
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionateThis e-View is rated: Helpful (3)  Passionate (0)  
Profile Picture

Rated 5 out of 5
Submitted by Elizabeth on 9th Aug 2008
Tick Verified product owner
I was very sceptical about these but thought I'd give them a go and I have to say that I am so impressed! White towels came out spotless and stains easilt removed with the special cream that comes with them. Would highly recommend.
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionateThis e-View is rated: Helpful (1)  Passionate (0)  
Profile Picture

Rated 5 out of 5
Submitted by Steve on 30th Jul 2008
Tick Verified product owner
The ecoballs work exceptionally well. i have found clothes don't need any fabric conditioner and smell nice. (although some people may want to add some conditioner.) I would recommend running a cleaning cycle on your washing machine before the first use.

The ecoballs even managed to remove 99% of lily pollen from a white shirt. I soaked in handwash and vanish for a few hours but the stain didn't change. washed in a normal cycle with the ecoballs and the stain was gone with only three tiny specks left :)
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionateThis e-View is rated: Helpful (25)  Passionate (5)  
Profile Picture

Rated 5 out of 5
Submitted by jeanne on 25th Jun 2008
Tick Verified product owner
I have been using these for about 18 months and am just about to buy another set. They are fantastic, I haven't bought powder or fabric conditioner since then and can recommend them to anyone. My husband is sensitive to washing powders and these are the answer PLUS they are eco-friendly AND save you money. Ten out of ten!
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionateThis e-View is rated: Helpful (7)  Passionate (0)  
Profile Picture

Rated 2 out of 5
Submitted by Mark on 9th Jun 2008
Tick Verified product owner
Don't rate these at all. In my opinion they don't wash any better than just using water. They don't get dirt out of whites very well and clothes quickly start to smell.
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionateThis e-View is rated: Helpful (1)  Passionate (0)  
Profile Picture

Rated 5 out of 5
Submitted by Janet on 3rd May 2008
Tick Verified product owner
I recently bought these balls.
I washed towels at 60c, they came out clean and soft without using fabric conditioner. I normally wash towels at 90c and it takes well over 1 hour.
Next I washed cotton bedding at 40c, with excellent results, they came out clean and fresh.
My next wash contained clothing including smelly socks I used a 40c wash. Once again excellent result and the socks passed the sniff test.
Overall I would highly recommend these balls.
I saved on electricty and water by putting my washing machine on the rinse hold cycle and then turning it to spin. My towels washed in less than 1 hour.
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionateThis e-View is rated: Helpful (10)  Passionate (2)  
Profile Picture

Rated 4 out of 5
Submitted by Jonathan on 30th Apr 2008
Tick Verified product owner
Bought these to give them a go, but basically expected to be sending them back. I am very surprised by how well they work. They remove all blood (from hockey clothing) successfully. I have no complaints and recommend them to all.
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionateThis e-View is rated: Helpful (1)  Passionate (0)  
Profile Picture

Rated 5 out of 5
Submitted by PurpleTree on 28th Apr 2008
Tick Verified product owner
I bought these last week and they really do work! My husband commented that I seem excited about doing the washing, which I am just to see if everything comes out clean, and so far it has, even all the snot marks that our 13month old baby has left all over our black tops!
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionateThis e-View is rated: Helpful (6)  Passionate (0)  
Profile Picture

Rated 5 out of 5
Submitted by Clare on 11th Apr 2008
Tick Verified product owner
I was really sceptical about how well these would work. With 3 children under the age of 5 and a husband whos a builder, i thought these would struggle to get the washing as clean as a standard washing powder would. But i was really impressed at how clean and soft the washing was.
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionateThis e-View is rated: Helpful (3)  Passionate (0)  
Profile Picture

Rated 5 out of 5
Submitted by SUSAN on 25th Mar 2008
Tick Verified product owner
Since using Ecoballs my washing is fresher and softer I won't be returning to conventional powders and conditioners ever again.It even gets my sons dirty jeans clean.
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionate
Profile Picture

Rated 1 out of 5
Submitted by caroline on 29th Feb 2008
Tick Verified product owner
I was very excited at the prospect of using the ecoballs as my daughter has excema and I liked that it was an environmentally friendly product. However after 10 days I had to send them back. Everyday stains on kids clothes have now become permanent features after regular washing (eg school uniforms). Swimming towels came out after a wash smelling of chlorine. I kept thinking of that story 'the Emperor has no clothes' - would the washing come out the same with no powder or balls? Service excellent when I returned the Ecoballs and refund quick. Disappointed all the same.
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionateThis e-View is rated: Helpful (3)  Passionate (2)  
Profile Picture

Rated 5 out of 5
Submitted by Michael on 25th Feb 2008
Tick Verified product owner
I've been using these wash balls for well over a year and I haven't gone back to washing powder.

It works out cheaper per wash as you don't need to use the rinse cycle, so a second load of water does not need to be heated up.
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionateThis e-View is rated: Helpful (1)  Passionate (0)  
Profile Picture

Rated 5 out of 5
Submitted by kelly on 21st Feb 2008
I've used these for the last two weeks and cant believe how great they are. my daughter suffers with a rare skin condition (prp) and I've noticed she isn't itching as much as usual. this goes for me as well, i noticed how soft the washing feels on the skin and helps us both. i would highly recommend these to anyone with sensitive skins. you wont want to go back to your old powders etc after using the eco balls.
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionate
Profile Picture

Rated 5 out of 5
Submitted by helen on 13th Feb 2008
Tick Verified product owner
I have been using the ecoballs for a year now, with excellent results.I have put the money usually spent on washing products in a jar and can now afford to treat the whole family to a theatre trip and a meal.
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionate
Profile Picture

Rated 5 out of 5
Submitted by emma on 3rd Feb 2008
Tick Verified product owner
I have a toddler and a baby and mine are HARD on clothes. i was very sceptical but have been totally surprised and impressed. Everything is lovely and clean, including the baby bibs! It also comes out really soft too.
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionateThis e-View is rated: Helpful (2)  Passionate (1)  
Profile Picture

Rated 5 out of 5
Submitted by Shona on 1st Feb 2008
Tick Verified product owner
What a relief! - I ordered these in a noble gesture of 'doing my bit' and placed them tentatively over my laundry with trepidation and to my utter astonishment they actually do work!! (even my husband says "everything even smells clean" - high praise indeed) Being a chef with lots of relatively heavy duty kitchen laundry and a baby on the way I am conscious that I didn't want to be using a ton of traditional washing powder each week, hence the move to the green side - and I'm thrilled - thank you! All I say to everyone is be brave, take that leap...
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionateThis e-View is rated: Helpful (16)  Passionate (3)  
Profile Picture

Rated 2 out of 5
Submitted by Jo on 24th Jan 2008
Tick Verified product owner
In my opinion the Ecoballs work OK if you have washing that isn't very dirty and just needs freshening up. I'll be keeping mine to use under these circumstances but by buying them I was hoping to dispense with using other washing powder products and this clearly isn't going to happen.
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionateThis e-View is rated: Helpful (5)  Passionate (0)  
Profile Picture

Rated 5 out of 5
Submitted by Claire on 23rd Dec 2007
Tick Verified product owner
I have used the eco balls on a number of occasions now and think they do a great job and even get whites sparkling! Tried them at 30 degrees though to be more eco friendly but they didn't seem to work very well.
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionateThis e-View is rated: Helpful (5)  Passionate (1)  
Profile Picture

Rated 5 out of 5
Submitted by karen on 20th Dec 2007
Tick Verified product owner
I run a B&B and was pretty sceptical that these would get my white sheets clean. They do! They get them clean, you don't need fabric conditioner and you don't need a rinse cycle. On top of all that they do leave a fresh air scent.
for bad stains I do use a stain remover but I have to do that with the top selling liquid detergent
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionateThis e-View is rated: Helpful (7)  Passionate (0)  
Profile Picture

Rated 1 out of 5
Submitted by Alan on 28th Nov 2007
Tick Verified product owner
terrible waste of money, even using the stain remover i found my clothes to look sully and unwashed. most disappointed they did not live up to the expectations that they claim


Staff feedback- It's worth noting that Ecozone Ecoballs come with a 30 day money back guarantee if you are not satisfied*. If you find they're not for you, you won't be left out of pocket.*
We have sold over 3500 of these and have so far had 14 sent back to us (that's 0.4%). John
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionateThis e-View is rated: Helpful (6)  Passionate (0)  
Profile Picture

Rated 4 out of 5
Submitted by Lizzie on 16th Nov 2007
Tick Verified product owner
I only bought these a couple of weeks ago and have used them about 4 times but they seem to be doing the job just fine! There's no real difference (so far at least) between their washing abilities and normal detergent. I am yet to use them on anything very dirty so time will only tell!
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionate
Profile Picture

Rated 4 out of 5
Submitted by rachel on 15th Nov 2007
I have been using these for over a year now and think they are great for day to day washing. if i have something that is really stained i treat it first but with the majority of stuff its fine. the only problem i have had is a slight musty smell after long use. apparently this is not to do with the balls but rather a build up of scum and limescale in the washing machine which is usually masked by conventional detergents. I read that putting a 50:50 white vinegar/water solution in on an empty wash with a high temp flushes it all out. it works fine for me. i do it about once every 3 months.
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionateThis e-View is rated: Helpful (33)  Passionate (5)  
Profile Picture

Rated 2 out of 5
Submitted by Samantha on 15th Nov 2007
I haven't found these to be particularly effective and only use them if the washload isn't very dirty...rarely applies when you have a 2 year old ;)
I personally don't rate their cleaning power, they don't do a great deal to remove stains of any kind and seem to leave the washing smelling almost "musty" afterwards, so I only use them when it's warm enough to dry the laundry in the garden, to get that "fresh" smell.
Sorry but not impressed.
Sam x
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionateThis e-View is rated: Helpful (3)  Passionate (0)  
Profile Picture

Rated 4 out of 5
Submitted by Sarah on 15th Nov 2007
they're great, they work, just buy them!
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionate
Profile Picture

Rated 1 out of 5
Submitted by David on 15th Nov 2007
Tick Verified product owner
These just patently don't work. They don't seem to clean any stains even at 60C. I will have to go back to Aerial! Don't waste your money...

Staff feedback- It's worth noting that Ecozone Ecoballs come with a 30 day money back guarantee if you are not satisfied*. If you find they're not for you, you won't be left out of pocket.
* We have sold over 3500 of these and have so far had 14 sent back to us (that's 0.4%). John
How do you rate this e-View? HelpfulPassionateThis e-View is rated: Helpful (1)  Passionate (0)  

Product Questions about the Ecoballs - 1000 Washes - Pack of 3back to top »

56

Number of Questions

Any other questions? Our boffins will help you with  Ask a question
anything you need to know.

You are currently viewing Questions in the order of

Most Helpful Questions

53 out of 56 people found this question and answer helpful
Heather asked this question on 17th Jan 2008

Q: Can you use fabric softner with these balls. I know it says that you don't need it, but if you have guests it is nice to make the lining smell nice.

A: According to the manufacturers..."You should find that the garments are naturally soft without the use of fabric softener. If you do miss the synthetic smell we suggest that you only use an Eco softener such as Ecover, but do not add it to the wash. When the wash is complete remove the Ecoballs™ add the softener and switch the machine on to a short rinse" John.

Did you find this q&a helpful? YesNo

4 out of 4 people found this question and answer helpful
Phil asked this question on 16th Jan 2008

Q: The instructions on your page say "Take out and leave to dry" after a load - if you're doing two or even three loads on the trot (we have a baby, can you tell??) do you need to let them dry out in between or can they go straight back in the wash again?

A: They can be used immediately - without drying out before the next load is started - we'd better change the description to clarify this! John.

Did you find this q&a helpful? YesNo

4 out of 4 people found this question and answer helpful
rhona asked this question on 13th May 2008

Q: Hi, I've been using these for a few years now, but recently my washing machine has damaged one of the ecoballs. It is badly scored and I avoid using this one incase it tears clothing. Is it possible to buy a single ecoball as a replacement?

A: I'm afraid that they are only available in sets of three, however we do think that you make an excellent point and will suggest this to the manufacturers. John.

Did you find this q&a helpful? YesNo

4 out of 6 people found this question and answer helpful
Tom asked this question on 17th Mar 2008

Q: Hi,
I was just wondering how you propose these balls to work. Your website says they ionize the water so that it can penetrate the clothing better but which of the ingredients (Higher alkyl sulfate, non-ionic surfactant, sodium metasilicate, calcium carbonate, sodium carbonate) do you think does this and what evidence do you have for that?
Best wishes,
Tom

A: Thanks for the query. The official explanation from the manfacturers is that the pebbles in the balls raise the Ph of the water, in doing so they create negative ions in the water; dirt is made up of positive ions, thus the negative ions attract the positive ions like two magnets.

We have received much positive feedback from customers regarding the performance of the ecoballs, and as they come with a 30 day satisfaction guarantee, there is little to lose by trying them.

Hope this helps.

Thomas

Did you find this q&a helpful? YesNo

4 out of 4 people found this question and answer helpful
Joanne asked this question on 16th Jan 2008

Q: My housemate has found the Ecoballs not to remove sweat, etc. well enough (I've had no problems). She has added a little washing powder in with the balls, is this ok or will it damage the ecoballs?

A: Whilst the addition of powder / detergent kind of defeats the rationale for using eco balls it shouldn't damage them. The key to looking after eco balls is to ensure they are left to dry out when they are not in use - as the pellets are active when in contact with water. Hope this helps. John.

Did you find this q&a helpful? YesNo

3 out of 6 people found this question and answer helpful
Poli asked this question on 23rd Nov 2007

Q: How are the used-up balls disposed of? Can they be recycled?

A: The balls can be refilled and re-used using the Eco Balls Refill kit. Andy

Did you find this q&a helpful? YesNo

3 out of 3 people found this question and answer helpful
Bernadette asked this question on 8th Feb 2008

Q: Can you use ecoballs to wash woollens? I would normally use woolwash or delicate wool detergent or pure soap flakes.
Thanks

A: Eco Balls are fine for a woollen wash and work well at the lower temperature washes that woollens need. Andy

Did you find this q&a helpful? YesNo

2 out of 4 people found this question and answer helpful
Rosa asked this question on 8th Jan 2008

Q: Do the Ecozone Ecoballs have chloride in them?

A: The ingredients of the Ecoball pellets are as follows :-Higher alkyl sulfate, non-ionic surfactant, sodium metasilicate, calcium carbonate, sodium carbonate. John.

Did you find this q&a helpful? YesNo

2 out of 2 people found this question and answer helpful
Helen asked this question on 17th Apr 2008

Q: I bought my eco balls about a year ago, and have been generally very happy with them(even red wine stains have been coaxed out with a few washes and a small smear of the stain remover). I wondered, Can I use borax with my eco balls?

I noticed someone else had a question about not being able to programme the washing machine to miss the rinse cycle. All the programmes on my machine have a rinse cycle, but I am able to stop, reset and restar my machine to miss out the rinse cycle (following the manufacturer's instructions, of course). This does mean standing over the machine, but I live in a tiny flat so I'm never that far away.

A: Thanks for the tip! There should be no problem with using borax alongside your ecoballs. Hope this helps.

Did you find this q&a helpful? YesNo

2 out of 2 people found this question and answer helpful
sophie asked this question on 26th Mar 2008

Q: If i only do a wash once a week will they last for the 1000 washes (approx 19 yrs!) or gradually deteriorate over time? realistically what is the longest time the balls will last? thanks.

A: The Ecoballs themselves do not degrade, it is the pellets inside which are worn down. They wear down when they are wet, so providing the balls are left to dry adequately, the Eco-balls should, in theory, last for the estimated 1000 washes. Obviously, however, we have not had time to test this.

Did you find this q&a helpful? YesNo

2 out of 2 people found this question and answer helpful
Nathalie asked this question on 4th Mar 2008

Q: Do these work at 30C? (I tend to do the vast majority of my washing at that temp)

A: Yes, Ecoballs work well at 30 degrees C. Hope this helps. Thomas.

Did you find this q&a helpful? YesNo

2 out of 2 people found this question and answer helpful
Leese asked this question on 27th Feb 2008

Q: Are these as effective in hard water areas?

A: The Ecoballs are very effective at softening water in hard water areas. Hope this helps. Thomas

Did you find this q&a helpful? YesNo

1 out of 1 people found this question and answer helpful
Victoria asked this question on 18th May 2008

Q: hi there
i am thinking about ordering some ecoballs but i was wondering if they work on reuseable nappies or would i have to continue to buy norml non-bio powder for my nappy wash?

A: There is no reason why Eco Balls shouldn't be used for this purpose, and are reportedly excellent for sensitive skin and have an anti-bacterial action. Please remember that ecoballs are supported by a manufacturer backed 30 day money back guarantee. John

Did you find this q&a helpful? YesNo

1 out of 1 people found this question and answer helpful
Joanna asked this question on 19th Apr 2008

Q: Hi i would like to have a set of these but when using ordinary wash powder i find when doing my kids school tops that i need to use an extra powder stain remover. Can i use an inwash powder stain remover in with these balls at the same time, I know they come with a stain remover stick so i just assume that you can add and oxy action stain remover to the load even when using the balls to help get rid of stubborn marks. Please advise.

A: Using an extra stain remover would not cause a problem when used in conjunction with the Eco-Balls. Hope this helps.

Did you find this q&a helpful? YesNo

1 out of 1 people found this question and answer helpful
Sara asked this question on 4th Apr 2008

Q: I noticed several people say you don't need a rince cycle, but how can I avoid this on my automatic machine? I've looked in the user manual, and there aren't any programs without a rince cycle. Can anyone give me any tips? (apart from standing by the machine to stop it manually... I'm a working mum!). Thanks!!

A: Some machines allow you to select a program without a rinse cycle, however this is not the norm. No harm will be done by allowing the rinse cycle to complete. Hope this helps.

Did you find this q&a helpful? YesNo

1 out of 1 people found this question and answer helpful
Emma asked this question on 26th Mar 2008

Q: In some of the reviews people have said they don't need to use a rinse cycle anymore with the Ecoballs, my washing machine won't let me bypass the rinse cycle. Will I still be "saving" if I used the Ecoballs? Thanks in advance. Emma.

A: As the cost per wash (just 3p) is significantly cheaper with the Ecoballs, then even with a rinse cycle you will be making considerable savings on each load of washing, as well as ensuring that harmful chemicals are not introduced into the water sources.

Did you find this q&a helpful? YesNo

1 out of 1 people found this question and answer helpful
IAN asked this question on 12th Nov 2007

Q: How long do the eco balls take to dry between successive washes and is it necessary to use fabric conditioner

A: The length of time ecoballs take to dry between washes is obviously greatly influenced by the environment in which you are drying them in. However it should be noted that ecoballs do not need to be fully dry before they can be used on the next laundry load BUT once the day's laundry is complete they should not be left standing in water / or in the drum of the washing machine.
Ecoballs cannot be used in the tumble dryer, the dryer will shorten the life of the Ecoballs
Re adding fabric softener to the wash with the Ecoballs?You should find that the garments are naturally soft without the use of fabric softener. If you do miss the fragrence aspect we suggest that you could use an Eco softener such as Ecover, but do not add it to the wash. When the wash is complete remove the Ecoballs add the softener and switch the machine
on to a short rinse. John.

Did you find this q&a helpful? YesNo

0 out of 2 people found this question and answer helpful
Phil asked this question on 22nd Feb 2008

Q: Do these balls kill off yeast/fungal infections (e.g. thrush)? We've been using vinegar to do this but since the instructions say that they raise the pH of the water (make it more alkaline) and vinegar is an acid they will (probably) cancel each other out!

A: The Ecoballs™ mineral pellets change the water molecules to soften the clothes and change the water acidity to more alkaline (bacteria typically doesn't grow in alkaline conditions). However the addition of vinegar will not be conducive to the performance of this product. John.

Did you find this q&a helpful? YesNo

0 out of 0 people found this question and answer helpful
Thomas asked this question on 3rd Jul 2008

Q: Are these vegan friendly, thanks a lot, Tom.

A: As far as we are aware the Ecoballs are suitable for both vegetarians and vegans. The Ecoballs themselves and the stain remover contain no animal ingredients. Jo.

Did you find this q&a helpful? YesNo

0 out of 0 people found this question and answer helpful
Carolyn asked this question on 18th Jun 2008

Q: Can you use these with a top loading washing machine?

A: Ecoballs™ can be used in Top Loaders, Front Loaders, Twin tubs and industrial use machines (though you will need to use more Ecoballs for industrial machines), the manufacturer's suggest that if your machine has twice the load capacity of a standard domestic machine then use two sets of Ecoballs for maximum results.

Did you find this q&a helpful? YesNo

0 out of 0 people found this question and answer helpful
Diana asked this question on 13th Nov 2007

Q: Where can I get refills of the pelletts once the ones supplied have run out?

A: You can get them from us! ecoball refill pellets (270g) will last up to 750 washes based on a 30 minute wash cycle. price is £19.99
We also sell replacement sponge rings too... POVID:33747 price £1. John

Did you find this q&a helpful? YesNo

0 out of 0 people found this question and answer helpful
Ellen asked this question on 3rd Nov 2007

Q: Hello. Can I use a (Magno Fix) anti-limescale ball in the drum along with the ecoballs? thank you in advance, Ellen

A: Yes. Using a Magno Ball in the drum with Eco Balls is fine. Andy

Did you find this q&a helpful? YesNo

0 out of 0 people found this question and answer helpful
Maria asked this question on 4th Jun 2008

Q: If using a 10Kg load washing machine, would you use the same amount of balls or do you need to have more? could you use other stain remover (i.e.shout)on the clothes while using these balls?

A: According to the manufacturer's instructions, if your machine has twice the load capacity of standard washing machines, then you should use two sets of Ecoballs. You may like to note that there is a 30 day moneyback guarantee on Ecoballs, so if they do not perform satisfactorily, you may return them. Hope this helps.

Did you find this q&a helpful? YesNo

0 out of 0 people found this question and answer helpful
ABI asked this question on 25th May 2008

Q: hi - are these are to use on delicates and handwash labelled clothes? I usually was these on 30 on the relevant wash cycle?thanks

A: The manufacturer's recommendation is that you use only 2 Ecoballs™ for a delicates wash and put your delicates in a laundry bag to protect them, always select the delicates wash on your machine. But if a top is very precious, expensive or delicate, please HAND WASH ONLY and do not use the Ecoballs™. Washing machines can be very rough on delicate clothes.

Did you find this q&a helpful? YesNo

0 out of 0 people found this question and answer helpful
Jane asked this question on 25th Feb 2008

Q: I used Ecoballs for ages, but eventually the outer cushion got warped. What caused this?

A: This is caused by the heat of the water warping the ring over time. Replacement rings are available at: http://www.ethicalsuperstore.com/products/ecozone/ecoball-replacement-sponge-rings-(3)/

Did you find this q&a helpful? YesNo

0 out of 0 people found this question and answer helpful
Shahid asked this question on 13th Feb 2008

Q: Are these balls suitable for use in a washing machine connected to a water softener?
Thanks

A: Yes they will work fine with softened water.

Did you find this q&a helpful? YesNo

0 out of 0 people found this question and answer helpful
Bert asked this question on 17th Jan 2008

Q: Can you use an Essential oil (like Lavender or peppermint oil) to the fabric softener hole? Or would that damage the pellets? Also, when the pellets wear out, what do you do with them: black bin or brown bin? Thanks!

A: The manufacturers of Eco Balls recommend if additional products such as fabric softeners are to be used to add fragrance 'do not add it to the wash. When the wash is complete remove the Ecoballs™ add the softener and switch the machine on to a short rinse.'
When the washing pellets have worn out please dispose of any remaining
pellets safely in the general waste and not by fire or in your garden. The pellets are biodegradable. John.

Did you find this q&a helpful? YesNo

0 out of 0 people found this question and answer helpful
amanda asked this question on 31st Dec 2007

Q: i usually do a wash to freshen my clothes rather than because they are dirty will eco balls do this if i am not using a nice smelling washing powder thank you

A: Eco balls are odourless when used - so clothes when washed with them will not have any fragrance. John.

Did you find this q&a helpful? YesNo

« Return to the full description information for Ecoballs - 1000 Washes - Pack of 3