Offer

Hover over the image to zoom or click to enlarge

Ecoballs - 1000 Washes - Pack of 3

Product code: 19571Ecozone »

4.3 / 5 stars based on 133 ratings

List price

£19.99

Now £13.18

You save £6.81 (34%)


Purchase Options



Earn reward points on this item Earn 55 reward points on this item

In Stock : Available for despatch today

Gift wrap available

133 Customer Reviews

Viewing all e-Views ordered by  

5/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Rita K  on 18th Jul 2015

Verified product owner

WOULD RECOMMEND THESE !THEY ARE GREAT!

This e-View is rated: Helpful (0) Passionate (0)

How do you rate this e-View?  

5/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Anonymous  on 24th Jun 2015

Verified product owner

They really work, I'm a beekeeper and they manage to wash propolis from my bee suit and as they are unscented they don't upset the bees!

This e-View is rated: Helpful (1) Passionate (0)

How do you rate this e-View?  

5/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Rebecca S  on 2nd Jun 2015

Verified product owner

Had these for over 2 and half years and still going.. and I wash alot. Love this product. Does as it says. No effort needed

This e-View is rated: Helpful (0) Passionate (0)

How do you rate this e-View?  

5/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Rebecca R  on 8th Mar 2015

Verified product owner

Excellent product, works brilliantly when used with the stain remover. My only bad point is that there is no nice smell on my clothes after washing that you would usually get with washing powder so I would recommend buying the fabric conditioner too.

This e-View is rated: Helpful (1) Passionate (1)

How do you rate this e-View?  

5/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Keith J  on 6th Mar 2015

Verified product owner

Excellent - what more can I say?

This e-View is rated: Helpful (0) Passionate (1)

How do you rate this e-View?  

4/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Gloria R  on 9th Feb 2015

Verified product owner

ecoballs work exactly as described and I am satisfied

This e-View is rated: Helpful (1) Passionate (0)

How do you rate this e-View?  

5/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Gill B  on 24th Nov 2014

Verified product owner

i have used these for some years, very pleased with them

This e-View is rated: Helpful (0) Passionate (0)

How do you rate this e-View?  

5/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Sharon A  on 20th Nov 2014

Verified product owner

A very good Eco friendly and cost effective way of washing clothes.

This e-View is rated: Helpful (0) Passionate (0)

How do you rate this e-View?  

5/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Amanda H  on 11th Nov 2014

Verified product owner

Wasn't sure if they would work but they are brilliant - no more nasty washing liquid!

This e-View is rated: Helpful (0) Passionate (0)

How do you rate this e-View?  

4/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Jacqueline S  on 22nd Sep 2014

Verified product owner

At present I am using the balls for woollen items as these need care, I think.

This e-View is rated: Helpful (2) Passionate (0)

How do you rate this e-View?  

4/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Anitabach  on 15th Sep 2014

Verified product owner

Excellent alternative to powder for skin with allergies etc. But not good on tough stains. Works out much cheaper than powder too. My original ecoballs had a sponge ring to deaden the noise in the machine. These don't.

This e-View is rated: Helpful (1) Passionate (0)

How do you rate this e-View?  

5/ 5 statrs
Submitted by David W  on 3rd Sep 2014

Verified product owner

Prompt efficient service and delivery. Excellent product, no messy powder.

This e-View is rated: Helpful (1) Passionate (1)

How do you rate this e-View?  

5/ 5 statrs
Submitted by SAC  on 18th Jul 2014

Verified product owner

It contains a small stain remover. Balls are smaller than the ones used to be. Some dirty ones can be used with small amount of detergent. It makes the water different for washing even with little detergent. It is nice you don't have to decide all or not. It helps reducing the usage of detergent for sure.

This e-View is rated: Helpful (1) Passionate (1)

How do you rate this e-View?  

5/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Chrissie  on 25th Jun 2014

Verified product owner

used in the Washing machine, always get a good wash from these ecoballs. Great product.

This e-View is rated: Helpful (1) Passionate (1)

How do you rate this e-View?  

5/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Claudia G  on 25th May 2014

Verified product owner

I used the product in my washing machine and it work perfect! I certainly I would recommend this product to anyone.

This e-View is rated: Helpful (1) Passionate (1)

How do you rate this e-View?  

3/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Chris  on 6th May 2014

Verified product owner

They do a great job and are more environmental and convenient than lugging wash powders home all the time. Also, your clothes don't smell or cause allergic reactions afterwards. However, two of my wash balls broke and leaked tiny balls when they should still have had lots of life left in them - I hadn't even had to use the spares which were supplied before this happened.

This e-View is rated: Helpful (2) Passionate (1)

How do you rate this e-View?  

5/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Lesley R  on 7th Apr 2014

Verified product owner

Loved the ecoballs. Bought same a couple of years ago. only problem, after refilling once, couldn't get them open to refill the next time. You seem to have updated the product, so hoping that the new model is easier to refill

This e-View is rated: Helpful (2) Passionate (0)

How do you rate this e-View?  

5/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Robert P  on 13th Mar 2014

Verified product owner

Excellent product.

This e-View is rated: Helpful (0) Passionate (0)

How do you rate this e-View?  

5/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Gill J  on 23rd Feb 2014

Verified product owner

it's replacement for previous EcoBalls which I have used over the past sbesn years as directed with my machine washloads.

This e-View is rated: Helpful (0) Passionate (0)

How do you rate this e-View?  

5/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Giuseppe F  on 23rd Feb 2014

Verified product owner

Great product

This e-View is rated: Helpful (0) Passionate (0)

How do you rate this e-View?  

5/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Catherine W  on 28th Jan 2014

Verified product owner

I cannot see any difference from using washing powder. Wish I had tried them before now.

This e-View is rated: Helpful (0) Passionate (0)

How do you rate this e-View?  

5/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Elizabeth J  on 2nd Jan 2014

Verified product owner

I have used successfully for years - also bought them as gifts.

This e-View is rated: Helpful (0) Passionate (0)

How do you rate this e-View?  

3/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Susan T  on 18th Jul 2013

Verified product owner

A) IN THE WASHING MACHINE

This e-View is rated: Helpful (1) Passionate (0)

How do you rate this e-View?  

4/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Maria P  on 9th Jun 2013

Verified product owner

The laundry balls do just what they claim to do. So far I've been very happy with the results. However, I miss the pretty smell of laundry powders and conditioners.

This e-View is rated: Helpful (2) Passionate (1)

How do you rate this e-View?  

5/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Susan R  on 7th Jun 2013

Verified product owner

I've started using these with all wash loads especially as my youngest has eczema. Not used washing powder since. Clothes do seem softer and although they might not get all stains out no more or less efficient in that sense than washing powder. As washing powder can sometimes not get stains out. Using the cream stain remover helps with this.

This e-View is rated: Helpful (2) Passionate (1)

How do you rate this e-View?  

4/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Shu K  on 6th Jun 2013

Verified product owner

recommend to family and friends

This e-View is rated: Helpful (1) Passionate (1)

How do you rate this e-View?  

2/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Melissa M  on 29th May 2013

Verified product owner

1st one broke after 2 washes. Think I might have s defective batch.

This e-View is rated: Helpful (2) Passionate (0)

How do you rate this e-View?  

5/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Linda R  on 23rd May 2013

Verified product owner

Have been using Eco Balls for about 5years, not long found out about Ethical Superstore am very impressed. Eco Balls are very good, wash very well and are even better now you can use Ecozone fabric conditioner with them. Have told a lot of people about them, as they are very good for your skin, and I think they get clothes cleaner than washing with a detergent. To me other detergents seem to just coat the clothes and stains seem to wash in rather than out. They are very economic and are good for the machine and environment.

This e-View is rated: Helpful (3) Passionate (1)

How do you rate this e-View?  

4/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Lauren G  on 12th May 2013

Verified product owner

Used these for a couple of weeks and our washing comes out clean and fresh. No complaints so far, will definitely keep using.

This e-View is rated: Helpful (2) Passionate (0)

How do you rate this e-View?  

5/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Janet S  on 11th May 2013

Verified product owner

I would have recommended these to several friends as I am so pleased with them.

This e-View is rated: Helpful (2) Passionate (0)

How do you rate this e-View?  

4/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Lesley G  on 1st May 2013

Verified product owner

Very good for lightly soiled clothes and freshening items up, however not so good on grass and mud stains.

This e-View is rated: Helpful (2) Passionate (0)

How do you rate this e-View?  

4/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Isabella B  on 29th Apr 2013

Verified product owner

Really like these. Don't quite trust with really smelly/dirty loads but fine for linen and freshening up my clothes. I often add a little ecover softener to just give my laundry a nice fresh smell too.

This e-View is rated: Helpful (0) Passionate (1)

How do you rate this e-View?  

5/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Christine C  on 21st Apr 2013

Verified product owner

use these all the time now excellent product would recommend to all

This e-View is rated: Helpful (0) Passionate (1)

How do you rate this e-View?  

4/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Sarah M  on 9th Apr 2013

Verified product owner

Bought these as my baby has eczema, cleans most things but struggles to get rid of Calpol scent!

This e-View is rated: Helpful (0) Passionate (0)

How do you rate this e-View?  

5/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Anonymous  on 9th Apr 2013

Verified product owner

These are amazing! All clothes are clean - including a t shirt stained with gravy, and a Lycra top which was smelling super sweaty after a 10mile run. I really recommend anyone to try these. For whites they work well with the Ecozone bleach.

This e-View is rated: Helpful (0) Passionate (0)

How do you rate this e-View?  

5/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Maria M  on 9th Apr 2013

Verified product owner

In washing machine to wash clothes...family & friends...

This e-View is rated: Helpful (0) Passionate (1)

How do you rate this e-View?  

5/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Gillian  on 1st Apr 2013

Verified product owner

I bought these for my children as we have used them for years.

This e-View is rated: Helpful (0) Passionate (1)

How do you rate this e-View?  

5/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Laura M  on 27th Mar 2013

Verified product owner

Use these for all my laundry and with 2 teenagers at home the washing machine is my most used appliance. The ecozone balls clean the washing great and the stain remover which comes with the kit is the best I've ever used!I would recommend this to all environmentally conscious people. A great product!

This e-View is rated: Helpful (0) Passionate (0)

How do you rate this e-View?  

4/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Denise C  on 23rd Mar 2013

Verified product owner

very good on laundry that only needs a light, quick wash, but not for soiled or stained articles.

















This e-View is rated: Helpful (1) Passionate (0)

How do you rate this e-View?  

4/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Anonymous  on 12th Mar 2013

Verified product owner

Fed up with searching for non perfumed washing powder and worrying about the chemicals, i was happy to find these. It's great that you an use a shorter cycle too, so saves money.

This e-View is rated: Helpful (0) Passionate (1)

How do you rate this e-View?  

5/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Andrew L  on 8th Mar 2013

Verified product owner

i suffer from washing powder eczema/allergy this is the best product for my skin and prevents flare ups and gets my clothes very clean

This e-View is rated: Helpful (1) Passionate (3)

How do you rate this e-View?  

4/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Sue J  on 8th Mar 2013

Verified product owner

Good to have an alternative and some things ave washed well but not all have come out as good as I would have hoped.

This e-View is rated: Helpful (1) Passionate (0)

How do you rate this e-View?  

5/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Cami P  on 25th Feb 2013

Verified product owner

Excellent quality , will recommend to family and friends

This e-View is rated: Helpful (0) Passionate (1)

How do you rate this e-View?  

5/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Anonymous  on 20th Feb 2013

Verified product owner

Regularly use this product and recommended to my student daughter.

This e-View is rated: Helpful (0) Passionate (2)

How do you rate this e-View?  

4/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Anonymous  on 16th Feb 2013

Verified product owner

Used for towels you need some fabric softener but good for clothes

This e-View is rated: Helpful (1) Passionate (0)

How do you rate this e-View?  

5/ 5 statrs
Submitted by John C  on 16th Feb 2013

Verified product owner

Bought an eco ball for ourselves, then bought 4 more, one for each of our sons and their families, then bought two more for their extended families. No more powder sticking in the washing machine tray and the wash is just as good. Will definitely save money using the balls, will have to wait to see if we get 1000 washes

This e-View is rated: Helpful (0) Passionate (1)

How do you rate this e-View?  

5/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Anne F  on 15th Feb 2013

Verified product owner

much better than washing powder and washingliquids

This e-View is rated: Helpful (0) Passionate (1)

How do you rate this e-View?  

5/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Roderick M  on 13th Feb 2013

Verified product owner

ecoballs rule no harsh chemicals on your clothes

This e-View is rated: Helpful (1) Passionate (1)

How do you rate this e-View?  

5/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Mands  on 9th Feb 2013

Verified product owner

Was worried these would not clean efficiently- but I needn't have. They are brilliant and I will NEVER go back to the chemical powders and liquids again. Recommend to anyone, so worth the initial outlay.

This e-View is rated: Helpful (0) Passionate (1)

How do you rate this e-View?  

5/ 5 statrs
Submitted by DavidM  on 4th Feb 2013

Verified product owner

recently bought these and used them a few times and my clothes come out clean and smell fresh. cant recommend highly enough! and with 1000 washes these should last me years and save alot of money on powders and liquid.

This e-View is rated: Helpful (1) Passionate (1)

How do you rate this e-View?  

5/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Berni G  on 25th Jan 2013

Verified product owner

In all my washes. And recently I bought some more for a friend who has eczema - so washing with these will hopefully be better for their skin than using detergents

This e-View is rated: Helpful (0) Passionate (1)

How do you rate this e-View?  

4/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Audrey B  on 23rd Jan 2013

Verified product owner

Seem to work effectively.

This e-View is rated: Helpful (0) Passionate (1)

How do you rate this e-View?  

4/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Elizabeth H  on 21st Jan 2013

Verified product owner

for clothes washing low temp. Good results

This e-View is rated: Helpful (0) Passionate (1)

How do you rate this e-View?  

5/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Suzy P  on 8th Jan 2013

Verified product owner

People don't believe that these balls can be effective, but they work like a dream.

This e-View is rated: Helpful (0) Passionate (1)

How do you rate this e-View?  

5/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Chris M  on 8th Dec 2012

Verified product owner

Fine, easily used and effective

This e-View is rated: Helpful (0) Passionate (2)

How do you rate this e-View?  

5/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Bio hand wash  on 27th Oct 2012

Verified product owner

good

This e-View is rated: Helpful (2) Passionate (0)

How do you rate this e-View?  

4/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Carol C  on 23rd Oct 2012

Verified product owner

In washing machine and have recommended them to my daughters

This e-View is rated: Helpful (0) Passionate (1)

How do you rate this e-View?  

5/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Amy S  on 22nd Oct 2012

Verified product owner

My mum has used these for years, and now I know I'm grown up as I've chosen to use them too. They are brilliant! My 2 year old son loves watching them in the washing machine too.

This e-View is rated: Helpful (0) Passionate (1)

How do you rate this e-View?  

4/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Anonymous  on 17th Oct 2012

Verified product owner

I have been using eco balls for a year now, green colour, and I like them, save a lot of money and environment. I have bought these for my friend for her birthday. So hope she will enjoy them as much I do.

This e-View is rated: Helpful (2) Passionate (0)

How do you rate this e-View?  

5/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Catriona T  on 11th Oct 2012

Verified product owner

So far, so good! Needed to ditch detergent as it was building up on clothes & irritating baby's skin & my eczema hands. Clothes are just as clean as with non bio & much softer. Clothes smell clean - not masked by perfume. So simple to use!

This e-View is rated: Helpful (1) Passionate (0)

How do you rate this e-View?  

5/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Stephanie B  on 9th Oct 2012

Verified product owner

Money savers and great for baby clothes

This e-View is rated: Helpful (0) Passionate (1)

How do you rate this e-View?  

5/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Jackie  on 8th Oct 2012

Verified product owner

Great product for people with eczema, no need to use soap powder anymore, saving the environment as well. I have been usingthemfor years, saving money too. Bought these for my son at university to use.

This e-View is rated: Helpful (1) Passionate (0)

How do you rate this e-View?  

3/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Jane B  on 29th Sep 2012

Verified product owner

The ecoballs seem to work ok although do not get all stains out I also bought some for my daughter who uses them on her baby's clothes as she has excema, and they do not remove the stains, she is looking for a stain remover that is kind to her skin

This e-View is rated: Helpful (1) Passionate (2)

How do you rate this e-View?  

5/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Pauline D  on 26th Sep 2012

Verified product owner

I have used Ecoballs before and so I was pleased to find replacements

This e-View is rated: Helpful (0) Passionate (1)

How do you rate this e-View?  

4/ 5 statrs
Submitted by MaggieShanks  on 17th Sep 2012

Verified product owner

Excellent value for money for anyone who wants a greener lifestyle. Beautifully clean clothes too

This e-View is rated: Helpful (0) Passionate (1)

How do you rate this e-View?  

4/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Wendy B  on 14th Sep 2012

Verified product owner

Have used for several years for all washing and have been very happy with the results. No artificial perfumes so you so have to get used to the lack of this.
Need the whitener (see below) to get good results with whites.

This e-View is rated: Helpful (1) Passionate (1)

How do you rate this e-View?  

4/ 5 statrs
Submitted by LuannHK  on 3rd Sep 2012

Verified product owner

good enough for my daily wash

This e-View is rated: Helpful (0) Passionate (1)

How do you rate this e-View?  

4/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Sunny D  on 19th Aug 2012

Verified product owner

Am trying these to see the difference from the 150 system, they are good but I think my husbands stinky work clothes felt fresher with the 150 system, but I have only used them twice and his clothes might have been worse than normal.

This e-View is rated: Helpful (0) Passionate (2)

How do you rate this e-View?  

5/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Rhonda S  on 19th Aug 2012

Verified product owner

I have been using eco balls for 15 years and would not use anything else

This e-View is rated: Helpful (0) Passionate (1)

How do you rate this e-View?  

3/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Frank S  on 9th Aug 2012

Verified product owner

We use product for Launderette service washes to reduce water used
Early days yet but so far working well, clothes are softer.

This e-View is rated: Helpful (1) Passionate (1)

How do you rate this e-View?  

5/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Romulinx2  on 18th Jul 2012

Verified product owner

Easy to use and they work. The stain remover also works. Have told people about the balls, and it works out very cheap for me.

This e-View is rated: Helpful (0) Passionate (1)

How do you rate this e-View?  

5/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Bence G  on 18th Jul 2012

Verified product owner

Great, use it all around, except for very stubborn dirt it works fine!

This e-View is rated: Helpful (0) Passionate (1)

How do you rate this e-View?  

5/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Georgina M  on 24th Jun 2012

Verified product owner

have used them for 3 years and needed to renew them they are excellent

This e-View is rated: Helpful (0) Passionate (1)

How do you rate this e-View?  

5/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Lakshmi S  on 7th Apr 2012

Verified product owner

Good value

This e-View is rated: Helpful (0) Passionate (1)

How do you rate this e-View?  

5/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Russell W  on 12th Mar 2012

Verified product owner

Use for household laundry - very effective

This e-View is rated: Helpful (0) Passionate (1)

How do you rate this e-View?  

5/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Cavanagh20  on 26th Jan 2012

The Ecozone Ecoballs work amazingly well, and have so far kept my clothes very clean (and that's with using only two of the balls at once, instead of the recommended three). The stain remover that came with the balls is also excellent. For saving money and doing one's bit for the environment, I would recommend this product for everyone!

This e-View is rated: Helpful (0) Passionate (1)

How do you rate this e-View?  

5/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Rebecca  on 26th Jan 2012

Verified product owner

I would highly recommend these. We have been using them over three years now and even have used them to wash nappies regularly, if you can believe it. It did take a short time to get used to not having the strong fragrance in the wash. But as my husband and I both have a strong sense of smell, we soon appreciated the truly clean smell instead of perfumes sometimes only partially masking leftover odors. Through a lot of use and especially with the nappies we've found that adding a bit of oxygen bleach (like Ecover) adds that bit more odor killing and cleaning power to make us never want to go back to washing powders. We make sure to put some stain remover on spots (Ecover again which adds a nice natural lavender scent to the wash). We haven't missed fabric softener either, although we dry our towels in a tumble dryer with dryer balls. Everything else is soft enough hanging up. Making this one change in your household can make a massive reduction in the amount of indoor air pollution your family is exposed to through the fragrances in washing powders and softeners. It will also save you a LOT of money. I think everyone should use them.

This e-View is rated: Helpful (4) Passionate (1)

How do you rate this e-View?  

5/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Foxontherun  on 16th Jan 2012

Verified product owner

I timed every step of wash- rince and centrifugate cycle(= 1 time effort). Wrote this information down into a table for every program. This sits on top of my machine now. When I'm at home I set an alarmclock after the machine has started, so I can stop the machine after the first rince cycle, moving the programe directly to centrifugate, and done. Same can be achieved using a timer that cuts electricity supply if not at home. I checked how much water was used for every rince cycle = +/- 20 liters. Using my machine averadge 10 times a month = 20*2*10= 400 l of water saved per month.rnI do load the machine up to 85-90% not 3/4. Deal with stains upfront. I make sure there is enough water in the machine at the start, generaly I add some. Clothes must be 'going through' the water by turning. My experience: wash 40° or 30° or cold(in summer)gives the best results. I stopped using 60°. For white I add now and then some Oxygen whitner.rnI have only cleaned my machine once 90°. Every 3 to 4 machines I add 4 drops of 100% essential oil(lavendel or eucalyptus).Preventing, to my opinion,the metal smell in the machine.rnHope this can be usefull to others.

This e-View is rated: Helpful (0) Passionate (2)

How do you rate this e-View?  

5/ 5 statrs
Submitted by MAhenda  on 10th Jan 2012

I was told about ecoballs a couple of years ago and have only just decided to try them. Wow. They are absolutley on the ball for laundry. Every wash has been perfect. The clothes are clean and that's all I want. The negative reviews are pretty well obviously written by detergent manufacturers who - er - would be out of business if everyone bought ecoballs. I have two teenage sons, a sports loving husband and a dog and I have very high standards of cleanliness. I am happy. You will be too. And, oh, by the way, I've already saved a fortune.

This e-View is rated: Helpful (0) Passionate (1)

How do you rate this e-View?  

1/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Havantai  on 5th Jan 2012

one of my eco balls broke while being used in the washing machine. some of the granules went into the space between the drum and the washing machine. while using certain wash programmes i can hear a grinding noise. its either call out a washing machine repair man to remove the granules or wait till they dissolve or grind to a pulp!

This e-View is rated: Helpful (1) Passionate (1)

How do you rate this e-View?  

4/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Cescababs  on 11th Dec 2011

Verified product owner

Absolutely great they are spreading through the family. But have a back up for bad stains and smells.

This e-View is rated: Helpful (0) Passionate (2)

How do you rate this e-View?  

5/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Pepsi200  on 2nd Dec 2011

I have used eco wash balls for three years now and find them to be both effective as a cleaning product and kind to my washing machine, leaving no dirty build up in the washing powder/liquid drawers. It also saves ££s in cleaning products!!

This e-View is rated: Helpful (0) Passionate (1)

How do you rate this e-View?  

4/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Adri  on 7th Nov 2011

Verified product owner

They do the job of cleaning your clothes just fine and I still use the quick wash cycle. But if you like your clothes to be scented you'll have to take the balls out and run on a quick spin with fabric conditioner to get them smelling of something especially in the winter when clothes can smell damp! I am a scientist and I can't quite get down to how they truly work....there are too many different explanations that require clarity. We've put it down to mechanical battering of the clothes.....so for stains you need something more powerfull that just these.

This e-View is rated: Helpful (1) Passionate (1)

How do you rate this e-View?  

2/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Kay  on 9th Sep 2010

Verified product owner

Firstly I would like to say that I try very hard to be as eco-careful as possible - there are easy changes which make a difference without compromise. However, this is not one of them, in my opinion.rnrnI don't think the balls get clothes clean in the same way as detergent, but my main complaint is definitely the smell. Most reviewers have mentioned this, but have suggested that it builds up after time. In my experience, the washing fails to smell fresh and clean even after just one wash without detergent and fabric conditioner. I am happy to use the less damaging types of detergent, such as Ecover. My Ecoballs have been consigned to the back of a shelf in the utility room.

This e-View is rated: Helpful (4) Passionate (1)

How do you rate this e-View?  

5/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Marthalouise  on 20th May 2010

Verified product owner

I've recentley received some eco-balls as a gift. I have found that they are leaving my clothes fresher, softer and feeling cleaner than any of the washing liquids or washing powders that I have previously used.
I work in a school and my partner has a demanding 12 hour shift job, we have both found that the ecoballs are effectively cleaning our clothes and they remain feeling fresh whilst wearing.
Additionally, we are instructed not to fully fill the drum - which some reviews count as a negative - it has always been my understanding that you shouldn't fully fill the drum anyway.
M-L.

This e-View is rated: Helpful (4) Passionate (1)

How do you rate this e-View?  

5/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Liz  on 5th Mar 2010

I've always been sceptical about the effectiveness of eco-friendly laundry detergents. No longer! Not only are the Ecozone Ecoballs effective at cleaning even my husband's work shirts they are so easy to use. Not only that they're good for the enviroment too. Thank you.

This e-View is rated: Helpful (2) Passionate (1)

How do you rate this e-View?  

5/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Shine62  on 3rd Oct 2009

Verified product owner

I was fortunate enough to buy my Ecoballs when they were on special offer here, this summer. I'd promised myself some for ages, but had no idea how good they would be. My first use of them was at the local laundrette (much to the amusement of the owner!) but unfortunately, while the balls did a brilliant job, my clothes smelt of the residual detergent/conditioner present from other people's washes! As I don't have a machine at home and tend to hand wash most things, I wondered when I would next get to use my balls. Hand Washing, even with eco-friendly detergent, is laborious to say the least - all that rinsing! So, last weekend I thought I would experiment, filled my plastic storage box 'washbowl' with slightly more water than usual, dropped in my clothes, my ecoballs and agitated the lot for several minutes (this was actually fun!) and then sniffed various items (!!) until I was satisfied that they were odourless as well as clean. As the water seemed a just little murky, I gave everything one quick rinse in the sink before giving them a quick whiz in the spin dryer. Even though I had removed the balls as well, there was still enough 'fizz' left to wash a couple more 'loads' before ditching the water. The water extracted from the spinner was actually clear enough for me to risk using it to water my houseplants - no casualties so far! The result from my 'experiment' was that I got hell of a lot more washing done in less time than usual and, although I used slightly more water for the 'wash', I still used less overall, due to less rinsing (and then I did not have to rinse every item!). Even at water temperatures between lukewarm and cold, I got great results and never have my clothes smelt (like rain!) or felt so good! My wash tube brimmeth over!!! I may don a pair of (fairtrade!) rubber gloves for future hand washes, just as a precaution, but that is it! From now on, I get my Ecoballs out whether washing by hand or machine!!

This e-View is rated: Helpful (4) Passionate (7)

How do you rate this e-View?  

5/ 5 statrs
Submitted by MD  on 26th Aug 2009

Verified product owner

Besides the obvious eco benefits, we've found these balls save a trip to the shop every couple of weeks, as we needed to get our liquid refills previously. And what's more, they work - and so does the stain remover which comes with them. Even the mother in-law was convinced, she is now a big fan as they save her a fortune!

This e-View is rated: Helpful (0) Passionate (3)

How do you rate this e-View?  

5/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Rebecca  on 16th Jul 2009

I have been using my ecoballs for a while now, but only for every day washing. When it came to my every other day nappy wash, I used Ecover detergent, which worked great. Until I ran out. So, for the first time I put my load of soiled, dry pailed nappies in the wash with the Ecoballs.
They came out just as clean, fresh and stain free as always.
Well done my little helpers!

This e-View is rated: Helpful (3) Passionate (1)

How do you rate this e-View?  

5/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Archieruby  on 25th Jun 2009

eco balls are great and do a marvellous job. But once in a while [month or 2] I put through a wash of whites with a detergent simply to brighten them a bit. I have set up grey water system to water the garden with the washing machine outflow, it goes into a settling tank down the garden and then through some drip hoses into the fruit and veg gardens. This has been running for about 4 years to excellent effect, in fact 2 years ago I used it to water the lawn. I know that strictly speaking the water should not be put on the plants so it just goes on the roots rather than leaves. In winter when it doesn't need to go on the garden, it runs by gravity into the soakaway area of our septic tank. Recommended them to a friend and her grandchild who has eczema had an almost miracle cure when her clothes had no detergent residue on them.

This e-View is rated: Helpful (3) Passionate (1)

How do you rate this e-View?  

4/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Caroline  on 15th May 2009

Verified product owner

I have found the Ecoballs to be excellent for washing. Very good on colours and for whites I usually add some natural bleach or baking soda to remove the many food stains from my children. Clothes smell fresh and I don't need conditioner.

This e-View is rated: Helpful (1) Passionate (0)

How do you rate this e-View?  

5/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Pete09  on 14th May 2009

Not sure they actually *clean* things any more than just a *normal* wash with no soap! However they do expose the fact that we don't always need to use soap whenever we wash clothes cars or even ourselves. On that basis they are excellent. We do one in every six washes with these. Then we we use Ecoleaf laundry liquid. So save a fortune over usual laundry products. You should only ever fill your machine 2/3 anyway, the laundry needs space to work properly.

Saves money and saves the planet. How much better does it get?

This e-View is rated: Helpful (0) Passionate (0)

How do you rate this e-View?  

4/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Edmondo  on 12th May 2009

Verified product owner

I've been using these for well over a year now and I've had no problems at all.

I have to query anyone that says these do not work and leaves their clothes smelly. Maybe its just your machine? Who knows. The only time I ever got less than stellar results were when the balls were wearing out. I refilled and presto back to normal.

I've used these on my work shirts (white) at 40oC and they still cleaned fine. Actually I've even used these at the min temperature of the machine (below 30oC) and they've still worked.

They work much better than the powder or liquid I have used in the past. Clothes are definitely as clean and more fresh than before.

Its a shame that you cannot use these in greater than 60oC water temp though. I use other eco friendly liquid for those high temperature jobs. It's the one thing stopping me from giving a 5 rating.

This e-View is rated: Helpful (1) Passionate (1)

How do you rate this e-View?  

3/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Emmamum  on 23rd Apr 2009

Verified product owner

I like this product very much - no more chemical residue on the baby clothes!
Only three stars from me as I am disappointed to find I need to refill after three months - nowhere near the 1000 washes that it claims - more like 100. A shame as still a really good product.
I would recommend this product with the caution that it will need refills sooner than it claims.

This e-View is rated: Helpful (2) Passionate (0)

How do you rate this e-View?  

5/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Kookieshell  on 16th Apr 2009

I can't understand why some people have given these balls such scathing reviews! I think they're great. Either the customers giving these reviews are putting too much in their machines and overloading the drum or they roll about in mud all day! I think they are great, they get your whites white and get rid of most light stains. Heavy stains will need some sort of stain remover but I think these clean as well as any soap powder.

This e-View is rated: Helpful (2) Passionate (0)

How do you rate this e-View?  

1/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Greengages  on 8th Apr 2009

Verified product owner

We were really excited when we got these balls they seemed like a total no-brainer.

However, over time and even after refilling the balls and with using Ecover bleach, our whites turned grey.

We've gone back to using Ecover laundry liquid - much better.

This e-View is rated: Helpful (5) Passionate (1)

How do you rate this e-View?  

4/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Anonymous  on 10th Mar 2009

Verified product owner

Done about 10 washes so far and the results are good. I agree with the restrictions on the load to let the balls circulate, but I think we tend to overload usually and so will improve washing efficiency and perhaps extend the life of the machine, It would not be an issue if water harvesting and solar water heating are employed.

This e-View is rated: Helpful (2) Passionate (1)

How do you rate this e-View?  

5/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Anonymous  on 29th Jan 2009

Highly recommended! They work and they save money on washing powder - its a no brainer!!

All of the family's clothes have come out clean and fresh. OK you have to do a 3/4 load but I probably never did a "full" load anyway. And as for washing your machine through once a month, well its advisable to do that with normal washing powder as well.

Its great to see something that is "green" and that saves money, normally being green costs that little bit more in time, money or effort.

This e-View is rated: Helpful (2) Passionate (1)

How do you rate this e-View?  

5/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Jason  on 28th Jan 2009

Verified product owner

Excellent product, has cleaned our clothes really well.

A previous reviewer has noted the requirement to do a 3/4 load and the inability to cut out the rinse cycle, which I agree with to some extent. Energy use aside though at least the balls mean that we are not adding pollutants to the water system from washing detergent.

With regard to washing the machine through at 95 degrees with 2 cups of vinegar once a month, well it is also advisable to do this when you use washing detergent anyway! It helps to clear limescale and detergent build ups within the machine. Washing liquid is particularly prone to building up within a washing machine and can be corrosive over the long term. Isn't it better to know that your washing machine is properly clean rather than just having any smells masked by the fagrance in your washing detergent?!?

Overall very pleased, I'd also recommend the magno ball and dryer balls. Worth the initial investment, will save a fortune in washing detergent and fabric softener.

This e-View is rated: Helpful (8) Passionate (1)

How do you rate this e-View?  

1/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Robert  on 26th Jan 2009

A gimmick I'm afraid. These balls only work properly when fully immersed in water so that the stones within the ball can dissolve. Most people who will use these balls will most probably have an eco washing machine that uses no where near enough water to allow the balls to be fully immersed. The stones do dissolve, and you can tell this by them getting smaller over time and coming out of the ball and blocking your pump! But the rate of dissolution is nowhere near enough to clean clothes.

A wash that uses no detergent would probably do as good a job as a wash with these balls in.

This e-View is rated: Helpful (17) Passionate (5)

How do you rate this e-View?  

3/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Jennifer  on 11th Jan 2009

Verified product owner

These balls work very well on lightly soiled clothes but not so great on clothes that have been used for aerobics, pyjamas etc as they can sometimes still smell of sweat, I use them for all of my normal washes but have resorted to buying ecological powder for more heavy soiled clothes, and also you can only use a 3 quarter full load in your machine to allow for the balls to circulate properly, which for environmental reasons is difficult for my concience. Having said that It is stopping alot of detergent from ending up in the rivers and that is a very good thing, It also saves money and is gentle on delicate skin, so there is lots of good points too and I use them for about 2/3 of my washing. Would reccomend them as an addition to your washing products rather than replacing them completely.

This e-View is rated: Helpful (9) Passionate (3)

How do you rate this e-View?  

3/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Kio  on 5th Jan 2009

Verified product owner

These are OK, but they don't take stains out of dirty clothes, even when the cream provided is applied which is a fiddly business. It's much easier to simply spray on a stain remover and use laundry powder. I'm losing faith in my ecoballs because if they don't take out the stains I can see, I don't fully believe that they remove the dirt that I can't. They also had a bad effect on my machine-wash black suits, causing large black stains to come up on the material. I've been quite disappointed with their performance; I can't use them on black clothes because they mess up the colour and I can't use them on whites because they don't clean them completely. Wouldn't really recommend.

This e-View is rated: Helpful (15) Passionate (1)

How do you rate this e-View?  

5/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Anonymous  on 2nd Jan 2009

Verified product owner

Anyone who says these don't work is not using them properly. If you don't overfill the machine so the water has room to circulate, they work just as well as soap, if not better. My husband and I have 2 children under 4 years old and both of us go to the gym regularly, so we have plenty of very dirty clothes! We'll never buy soap again. They work perfectly, buy them!!

This e-View is rated: Helpful (5) Passionate (1)

How do you rate this e-View?  

4/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Anonymous  on 3rd Dec 2008

Verified product owner

Of course the balls do not make disappear the black stains on your cuffs or grease stains on shirts, especially children clothes, but when there is no thick stain the balls work perfectly well. I recommend to rub little stains off with any home soap and then put clothes into the machine just with the balls. No detergent nor softener. I am convinced they work!

This e-View is rated: Helpful (8) Passionate (0)

How do you rate this e-View?  

1/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Lera  on 20th Nov 2008

Verified product owner

I thought this would be an excellent idea, but unfortunately not. The ecoballs are not successful at removing organic material from the laundry - e.g. baby possets & cleaning soiled nappies. We use a 40 degrees wash in a hard water area, and will be passing the ecoballs on to someone who has very lightly soiled laundry.

The explanation of how they work is entertaining though. At one point it claims that the product reduces the size of the water molecules...

This e-View is rated: Helpful (4) Passionate (0)

How do you rate this e-View?  

4/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Anonymous  on 13th Nov 2008

Verified product owner

Like other reviewers, we’re very impressed with the results of washing with eco-balls. However, there are a few things that we didn’t know until we received them – which we think purchasers should know about as they raise the question just how eco are eco-balls? First, you are advised only to fill your machine with three-quarters of a normal load, to allow the balls room to move around. So that means that for every three full loads we now have to do four washes. Secondly, you cannot use any water-saving function that your machine may have (other than cutting out a rinse, if you can). (We always use the time saver anyway, so no advantage there.) Thirdly, the instructions state that you can avoid a rinse cycle by using ‘Rinse Hold’. However on our machine, which is only two years old, ‘Rinse Hold’ does not mean ‘no rinse’ – it simply means the machine rinses and then holds i.e. leaves the water in so you can drain or spin later. Finally, the leaflet suggests that to clear your machine of old deposits in the pipes, and keep it free of limescale, you run an empty cycle, using vinegar for cleaning, once a month – at 95 degrees!

I still approve of these in principle – clean , easy, no chemicals, no packaging, and economy in direct comparison with powders. But overall, in terms of water and energy? Hmmm, the jury’s still out.

This e-View is rated: Helpful (87) Passionate (6)

How do you rate this e-View?  

5/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Anonymous  on 11th Nov 2008

Verified product owner

The Eco balls are fantastic! I was really curious about how these balls work that's why I bought them and I am not disappointed! Even more I recommend them to everyone! The clothes are clean, fresh and even stubborn stains were removed. At the same time you're using eco-friendly product and save money. Impressive!

This e-View is rated: Helpful (12) Passionate (2)

How do you rate this e-View?  

5/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Johanna  on 28th Oct 2008

I was pleasantly surprised how good these are. I use them at 35% on a quick wash which is fine. I use powder from time to time to get the nice clean smell but apart from that they work really well.

This e-View is rated: Helpful (3) Passionate (0)

How do you rate this e-View?  

1/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Anonymous  on 21st Sep 2008

Verified product owner

After having read the reviews I was very enthusiastic about trying these out. As soon as they were delivered I tried them out but was very disappointed with the results - They did not clean my clothes well and my T shirts I go to the gym with still smelt of sweat! Needless to say I returned them. The Magnoball however does seem to work, so I will stick to that and ecological detergent!

This e-View is rated: Helpful (3) Passionate (0)

How do you rate this e-View?  

5/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Elizabeth  on 9th Aug 2008

Verified product owner

I was very sceptical about these but thought I'd give them a go and I have to say that I am so impressed! White towels came out spotless and stains easilt removed with the special cream that comes with them. Would highly recommend.

This e-View is rated: Helpful (1) Passionate (0)

How do you rate this e-View?  

5/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Steve  on 30th Jul 2008

Verified product owner

The ecoballs work exceptionally well. i have found clothes don't need any fabric conditioner and smell nice. (although some people may want to add some conditioner.) I would recommend running a cleaning cycle on your washing machine before the first use.

The ecoballs even managed to remove 99% of lily pollen from a white shirt. I soaked in handwash and vanish for a few hours but the stain didn't change. washed in a normal cycle with the ecoballs and the stain was gone with only three tiny specks left :)

This e-View is rated: Helpful (25) Passionate (5)

How do you rate this e-View?  

5/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Jeanne  on 25th Jun 2008

Verified product owner

I have been using these for about 18 months and am just about to buy another set. They are fantastic, I haven't bought powder or fabric conditioner since then and can recommend them to anyone. My husband is sensitive to washing powders and these are the answer PLUS they are eco-friendly AND save you money. Ten out of ten!

This e-View is rated: Helpful (7) Passionate (0)

How do you rate this e-View?  

2/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Mark  on 9th Jun 2008

Verified product owner

Don't rate these at all. In my opinion they don't wash any better than just using water. They don't get dirt out of whites very well and clothes quickly start to smell.

This e-View is rated: Helpful (1) Passionate (0)

How do you rate this e-View?  

5/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Janet  on 3rd May 2008

Verified product owner

I recently bought these balls.
I washed towels at 60c, they came out clean and soft without using fabric conditioner. I normally wash towels at 90c and it takes well over 1 hour.
Next I washed cotton bedding at 40c, with excellent results, they came out clean and fresh.
My next wash contained clothing including smelly socks I used a 40c wash. Once again excellent result and the socks passed the sniff test.
Overall I would highly recommend these balls.
I saved on electricty and water by putting my washing machine on the rinse hold cycle and then turning it to spin. My towels washed in less than 1 hour.

This e-View is rated: Helpful (10) Passionate (2)

How do you rate this e-View?  

4/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Jonathan  on 30th Apr 2008

Verified product owner

Bought these to give them a go, but basically expected to be sending them back. I am very surprised by how well they work. They remove all blood (from hockey clothing) successfully. I have no complaints and recommend them to all.

This e-View is rated: Helpful (1) Passionate (0)

How do you rate this e-View?  

5/ 5 statrs
Submitted by PurpleTree  on 28th Apr 2008

Verified product owner

I bought these last week and they really do work! My husband commented that I seem excited about doing the washing, which I am just to see if everything comes out clean, and so far it has, even all the snot marks that our 13month old baby has left all over our black tops!

This e-View is rated: Helpful (6) Passionate (0)

How do you rate this e-View?  

5/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Clare  on 11th Apr 2008

Verified product owner

I was really sceptical about how well these would work. With 3 children under the age of 5 and a husband whos a builder, i thought these would struggle to get the washing as clean as a standard washing powder would. But i was really impressed at how clean and soft the washing was.

This e-View is rated: Helpful (3) Passionate (0)

How do you rate this e-View?  

5/ 5 statrs
Submitted by SUSAN  on 25th Mar 2008

Verified product owner

Since using Ecoballs my washing is fresher and softer I won't be returning to conventional powders and conditioners ever again.It even gets my sons dirty jeans clean.

This e-View is rated: Helpful (0) Passionate (0)

How do you rate this e-View?  

1/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Caroline  on 29th Feb 2008

Verified product owner

I was very excited at the prospect of using the ecoballs as my daughter has excema and I liked that it was an environmentally friendly product. However after 10 days I had to send them back. Everyday stains on kids clothes have now become permanent features after regular washing (eg school uniforms). Swimming towels came out after a wash smelling of chlorine. I kept thinking of that story 'the Emperor has no clothes' - would the washing come out the same with no powder or balls? Service excellent when I returned the Ecoballs and refund quick. Disappointed all the same.

This e-View is rated: Helpful (3) Passionate (2)

How do you rate this e-View?  

5/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Michael  on 25th Feb 2008

Verified product owner

I've been using these wash balls for well over a year and I haven't gone back to washing powder.

It works out cheaper per wash as you don't need to use the rinse cycle, so a second load of water does not need to be heated up.

This e-View is rated: Helpful (1) Passionate (0)

How do you rate this e-View?  

5/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Kelly  on 21st Feb 2008

I've used these for the last two weeks and cant believe how great they are. my daughter suffers with a rare skin condition (prp) and I've noticed she isn't itching as much as usual. this goes for me as well, i noticed how soft the washing feels on the skin and helps us both. i would highly recommend these to anyone with sensitive skins. you wont want to go back to your old powders etc after using the eco balls.

This e-View is rated: Helpful (0) Passionate (0)

How do you rate this e-View?  

5/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Helen  on 13th Feb 2008

Verified product owner

I have been using the ecoballs for a year now, with excellent results.I have put the money usually spent on washing products in a jar and can now afford to treat the whole family to a theatre trip and a meal.

This e-View is rated: Helpful (0) Passionate (0)

How do you rate this e-View?  

5/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Emma  on 3rd Feb 2008

Verified product owner

I have a toddler and a baby and mine are HARD on clothes. i was very sceptical but have been totally surprised and impressed. Everything is lovely and clean, including the baby bibs! It also comes out really soft too.

This e-View is rated: Helpful (2) Passionate (1)

How do you rate this e-View?  

5/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Shona  on 1st Feb 2008

Verified product owner

What a relief! - I ordered these in a noble gesture of 'doing my bit' and placed them tentatively over my laundry with trepidation and to my utter astonishment they actually do work!! (even my husband says "everything even smells clean" - high praise indeed) Being a chef with lots of relatively heavy duty kitchen laundry and a baby on the way I am conscious that I didn't want to be using a ton of traditional washing powder each week, hence the move to the green side - and I'm thrilled - thank you! All I say to everyone is be brave, take that leap...

This e-View is rated: Helpful (16) Passionate (3)

How do you rate this e-View?  

2/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Jo  on 24th Jan 2008

Verified product owner

In my opinion the Ecoballs work OK if you have washing that isn't very dirty and just needs freshening up. I'll be keeping mine to use under these circumstances but by buying them I was hoping to dispense with using other washing powder products and this clearly isn't going to happen.

This e-View is rated: Helpful (5) Passionate (0)

How do you rate this e-View?  

5/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Claire  on 23rd Dec 2007

Verified product owner

I have used the eco balls on a number of occasions now and think they do a great job and even get whites sparkling! Tried them at 30 degrees though to be more eco friendly but they didn't seem to work very well.

This e-View is rated: Helpful (5) Passionate (1)

How do you rate this e-View?  

5/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Karen  on 20th Dec 2007

Verified product owner

I run a B&B and was pretty sceptical that these would get my white sheets clean. They do! They get them clean, you don't need fabric conditioner and you don't need a rinse cycle. On top of all that they do leave a fresh air scent.
for bad stains I do use a stain remover but I have to do that with the top selling liquid detergent

This e-View is rated: Helpful (7) Passionate (0)

How do you rate this e-View?  

1/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Alan  on 28th Nov 2007

Verified product owner

terrible waste of money, even using the stain remover i found my clothes to look sully and unwashed. most disappointed they did not live up to the expectations that they claim


Staff feedback- It's worth noting that Ecozone Ecoballs come with a 30 day money back guarantee if you are not satisfied*. If you find they're not for you, you won't be left out of pocket.*
We have sold over 3500 of these and have so far had 14 sent back to us (that's 0.4%). John

This e-View is rated: Helpful (6) Passionate (0)

How do you rate this e-View?  

4/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Lizzie  on 16th Nov 2007

Verified product owner

I only bought these a couple of weeks ago and have used them about 4 times but they seem to be doing the job just fine! There's no real difference (so far at least) between their washing abilities and normal detergent. I am yet to use them on anything very dirty so time will only tell!

This e-View is rated: Helpful (0) Passionate (0)

How do you rate this e-View?  

4/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Rachel  on 15th Nov 2007

I have been using these for over a year now and think they are great for day to day washing. if i have something that is really stained i treat it first but with the majority of stuff its fine. the only problem i have had is a slight musty smell after long use. apparently this is not to do with the balls but rather a build up of scum and limescale in the washing machine which is usually masked by conventional detergents. I read that putting a 50:50 white vinegar/water solution in on an empty wash with a high temp flushes it all out. it works fine for me. i do it about once every 3 months.

This e-View is rated: Helpful (33) Passionate (5)

How do you rate this e-View?  

2/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Samantha  on 15th Nov 2007

I haven't found these to be particularly effective and only use them if the washload isn't very dirty...rarely applies when you have a 2 year old ;)
I personally don't rate their cleaning power, they don't do a great deal to remove stains of any kind and seem to leave the washing smelling almost "musty" afterwards, so I only use them when it's warm enough to dry the laundry in the garden, to get that "fresh" smell.
Sorry but not impressed.
Sam x

This e-View is rated: Helpful (3) Passionate (0)

How do you rate this e-View?  

4/ 5 statrs
Submitted by Sarah  on 15th Nov 2007

they're great, they work, just buy them!

This e-View is rated: Helpful (0) Passionate (0)

How do you rate this e-View?  

1/ 5 statrs
Submitted by David  on 15th Nov 2007

Verified product owner

These just patently don't work. They don't seem to clean any stains even at 60C. I will have to go back to Aerial! Don't waste your money...

Staff feedback- It's worth noting that Ecozone Ecoballs come with a 30 day money back guarantee if you are not satisfied*. If you find they're not for you, you won't be left out of pocket.
* We have sold over 3500 of these and have so far had 14 sent back to us (that's 0.4%). John

This e-View is rated: Helpful (1) Passionate (0)

How do you rate this e-View?  

56 Questions

Viewing all Questions ordered by  

Heather  asked this question on 17th Jan 2008

Q: Can you use fabric softner with these balls. I know it says that you don't need it, but if you have guests it is nice to make the lining smell nice.

A: According to the manufacturers..."You should find that the garments are naturally soft without the use of fabric softener. If you do miss the synthetic smell we suggest that you only use an Eco softener such as Ecover, but do not add it to the wash. When the wash is complete remove the Ecoballs™ add the softener and switch the machine on to a short rinse" John.

55 out of 58 found this question and answer helpful.

Did you find this Q&A helpful? Yes No

Sarah  asked this question on 29th Jul 2008

Q: Hi,
I bought some of these a few months ago and am very pleased with them however I do have one question. How ashall I know when to put the replacement pellets inside the balls? Thanks.

A: The pellets will, over time, dissolve and disappear; therefore, when you can no longer see or hear them, it's time to replace them! (The manufacturer states that this should be after approx 1000 washes)

54 out of 56 found this question and answer helpful.

Did you find this Q&A helpful? Yes No

Elizabeth  asked this question on 19th Jul 2008

Q: I recently read in Ethical Consumer that some "eco-washing balls" are made from PVC. Are these PVC free? Thanks

A: I am pleased to tell you that Ecozone Ecoballs do not contain any amount of PVC whatsoever. Marty

40 out of 41 found this question and answer helpful.

Did you find this Q&A helpful? Yes No

Phil  asked this question on 16th Jan 2008

Q: The instructions on your page say "Take out and leave to dry" after a load - if you're doing two or even three loads on the trot (we have a baby, can you tell??) do you need to let them dry out in between or can they go straight back in the wash again?

A: They can be used immediately - without drying out before the next load is started - we'd better change the description to clarify this! John.

6 out of 6 found this question and answer helpful.

Did you find this Q&A helpful? Yes No

Tom  asked this question on 17th Mar 2008

Q: Hi,
I was just wondering how you propose these balls to work. Your website says they ionize the water so that it can penetrate the clothing better but which of the ingredients (Higher alkyl sulfate, non-ionic surfactant, sodium metasilicate, calcium carbonate, sodium carbonate) do you think does this and what evidence do you have for that?
Best wishes,
Tom

A: Thanks for the query. The official explanation from the manfacturers is that the pebbles in the balls raise the Ph of the water, in doing so they create negative ions in the water; dirt is made up of positive ions, thus the negative ions attract the positive ions like two magnets. We have received much positive feedback from customers regarding the performance of the ecoballs, and as they come with a 30 day satisfaction guarantee, there is little to lose by trying them. Hope this helps. Thomas

5 out of 7 found this question and answer helpful.

Did you find this Q&A helpful? Yes No

Redsam  asked this question on 8th Feb 2009

Q: You talk about a stain remover.
* When is this needed to be used? (ie. Every wash, or v occasionally)
* What is it made of (ie. what chemicals)?
* Is it completely environmentally sound? (Surely using the stain remover is no different to a commercial powder?)

A: It is a natural stain remover with no phosphates and bio-degradable ingredients. The ingredients are as follows; Aqua Cellulose gum, Sodium silicate, Sodium dodecylbenzene sulfonate, Sodium citrate, Zeolite Sodium hydroxide. The stain remover is to be used occasionally; as and when needed indicated by a stubborn stain or mark. Marty.

5 out of 5 found this question and answer helpful.

Did you find this Q&A helpful? Yes No

Rhona  asked this question on 13th May 2008

Q: Hi, I've been using these for a few years now, but recently my washing machine has damaged one of the ecoballs. It is badly scored and I avoid using this one incase it tears clothing. Is it possible to buy a single ecoball as a replacement?

A: I'm afraid that they are only available in sets of three, however we do think that you make an excellent point and will suggest this to the manufacturers. John.

5 out of 5 found this question and answer helpful.

Did you find this Q&A helpful? Yes No

Poli  asked this question on 23rd Nov 2007

Q: How are the used-up balls disposed of? Can they be recycled?

A: The balls can be refilled and re-used using the Eco Balls Refill kit. Andy

4 out of 7 found this question and answer helpful.

Did you find this Q&A helpful? Yes No

Bernadette  asked this question on 8th Feb 2008

Q: Can you use ecoballs to wash woollens? I would normally use woolwash or delicate wool detergent or pure soap flakes.
Thanks

A: Eco Balls are fine for a woollen wash and work well at the lower temperature washes that woollens need. Andy

4 out of 4 found this question and answer helpful.

Did you find this Q&A helpful? Yes No

Joanne  asked this question on 16th Jan 2008

Q: My housemate has found the Ecoballs not to remove sweat, etc. well enough (I've had no problems). She has added a little washing powder in with the balls, is this ok or will it damage the ecoballs?

A: Whilst the addition of powder / detergent kind of defeats the rationale for using eco balls it shouldn't damage them. The key to looking after eco balls is to ensure they are left to dry out when they are not in use - as the pellets are active when in contact with water. Hope this helps. John.

4 out of 4 found this question and answer helpful.

Did you find this Q&A helpful? Yes No

Anonymous  asked this question on 29th Jan 2009

Q: I usually wash my clothes using a 30 minute, 30 degree wash. Will the Ecoballs wash effectively at this temperature and for this duration?

A: The recommended effective temperature range for Ecoballs is anywhere between 30 oC - 60 oC. The duration shouldn't be a problem but Ecoballs need to circulate in plenty of water so do not select a reduced water program.

3 out of 3 found this question and answer helpful.

Did you find this Q&A helpful? Yes No

Anonymous  asked this question on 6th Nov 2008

Q: Hi, Where I live, in Bath, the water is VERY hard and I normally have to use Lime scale powder such as Calgon or tablets such as W5. With the Eco laundry balls, can I still use this Lime scale products?

A: You cannot use a water softening tablet with the Ecoball, however,the manufacturers have developed and recommend that you use the MagnoBall Anti-Limescale Magnetic Ball for use in the washing machine (and dishwasher). Guaranteed for 5 years, MagnoBall could potentially save you a lot of money on softening tablets.

3 out of 3 found this question and answer helpful.

Did you find this Q&A helpful? Yes No

Anonymous  asked this question on 1st Dec 2008

Q: I have been using Eco Balls for about 4 years (on and off as sometimes I'm not totally convinced of the depth of clean and there is not a 'clean' smell). Can I use fabric softener or my usual mix of tee tree oil and white vinegar?

A: The manufacturer claims that no fabric softener should be necessary as the Ecoballs themselves will soften your clothes. However should you chose to use fabric softener (or alternative) this would be no problem at all. We can also recommend the Magno Ball as an effective way to soften your water and clothes.

3 out of 3 found this question and answer helpful.

Did you find this Q&A helpful? Yes No

Nathalie  asked this question on 4th Mar 2008

Q: Do these work at 30C? (I tend to do the vast majority of my washing at that temp)

A: Yes, Ecoballs work well at 30 degrees C. Hope this helps. Thomas.

3 out of 3 found this question and answer helpful.

Did you find this Q&A helpful? Yes No

Rosa  asked this question on 8th Jan 2008

Q: Do the Ecozone Ecoballs have chloride in them?

A: The ingredients of the Ecoball pellets are as follows :-Higher alkyl sulfate, non-ionic surfactant, sodium metasilicate, calcium carbonate, sodium carbonate. John.

2 out of 4 found this question and answer helpful.

Did you find this Q&A helpful? Yes No

Alena  asked this question on 9th Apr 2009

Q: I started to use my new ecoballs two and half months ago until the clothes started to come out smelly. I cleaned balls in a soapy water but they are still smelly :-/ What should I do?

A: Hi, the manufacturer has a Q&A on this topic: see below Q. My Ecoballs™ have started to smell strange and so are my clothes and washing machine. A. In the years prior to using the Ecoballs™ you have probably been using powder or liquid. Just like your washing machine dispenser tray can accumulate a build up of hardened powder/liquid so can the inside of your machine and pipes. If this is not cleaned away it will cause a bad smell and will block the pipes , this smell will have been masked by the synthetic perfumes in powder. To clean out your washing machine, leave the drum empty and switch the machine to a hot wash of 90 or 95, put 2 cup fulls of White Vinegar in the dispenser tray and switch on. White Vinegar is good at removing hardened lime scale/powder deposits, is anti-bacterial and does not foam up in the machine. If you do this once a month you’ll be keeping your machine in top condition and smell—free, if smells still persist, check the pipes at the back of the machine – they could be blocked. I hope this helps. Marty.

2 out of 3 found this question and answer helpful.

Did you find this Q&A helpful? Yes No

Helen  asked this question on 17th Apr 2008

Q: I bought my eco balls about a year ago, and have been generally very happy with them(even red wine stains have been coaxed out with a few washes and a small smear of the stain remover). I wondered, Can I use borax with my eco balls?

I noticed someone else had a question about not being able to programme the washing machine to miss the rinse cycle. All the programmes on my machine have a rinse cycle, but I am able to stop, reset and restar my machine to miss out the rinse cycle (following the manufacturer's instructions, of course). This does mean standing over the machine, but I live in a tiny flat so I'm never that far away.

A: Thanks for the tip! There should be no problem with using borax alongside your ecoballs. Hope this helps.

2 out of 2 found this question and answer helpful.

Did you find this Q&A helpful? Yes No

Sara  asked this question on 4th Apr 2008

Q: I noticed several people say you don't need a rince cycle, but how can I avoid this on my automatic machine? I've looked in the user manual, and there aren't any programs without a rince cycle. Can anyone give me any tips? (apart from standing by the machine to stop it manually... I'm a working mum!). Thanks!!

A: Some machines allow you to select a program without a rinse cycle, however this is not the norm. No harm will be done by allowing the rinse cycle to complete. Hope this helps.

2 out of 2 found this question and answer helpful.

Did you find this Q&A helpful? Yes No

Leese  asked this question on 27th Feb 2008

Q: Are these as effective in hard water areas?

A: The Ecoballs are very effective at softening water in hard water areas. Hope this helps. Thomas

2 out of 2 found this question and answer helpful.

Did you find this Q&A helpful? Yes No

Anonymous  asked this question on 22nd Mar 2011

Q: Hi, I have used ecoballs with conditioner once, did I destroy them? I know I shouldn't use conditioner with them unless I take them out before finishing washing cycle. But I was wondering if I actually destroyed them with one use of conditioner, thanks

A: Hi there, if you used eco-friendly conditioner, such as conditioner from Ecover, then the Eco-balls will not be damaged. If you didn't, then we recommend soaking the eco-balls in white vinegar for an hour or so. They should be fine to use again after that. I hope this helps. Robyn.

2 out of 2 found this question and answer helpful.

Did you find this Q&A helpful? Yes No

Anonymous  asked this question on 5th Feb 2010

Q: Can I use a pre-treater/ stain remover spray like Shout, Vanish or Daz then wash with Eco Balls?

A: Yes you can!

2 out of 2 found this question and answer helpful.

Did you find this Q&A helpful? Yes No

Anonymous  asked this question on 30th Apr 2009

Q: Can bicarbonate of soda be used with eco-balls?

A: Hi, the manufacturer state that "they will be fine to use together". Marty

2 out of 2 found this question and answer helpful.

Did you find this Q&A helpful? Yes No

Victoria  asked this question on 18th May 2008

Q: hi there
i am thinking about ordering some ecoballs but i was wondering if they work on reuseable nappies or would i have to continue to buy norml non-bio powder for my nappy wash?

A: There is no reason why Eco Balls shouldn't be used for this purpose, and are reportedly excellent for sensitive skin and have an anti-bacterial action. Please remember that ecoballs are supported by a manufacturer backed 30 day money back guarantee. John

2 out of 2 found this question and answer helpful.

Did you find this Q&A helpful? Yes No

Joanna  asked this question on 19th Apr 2008

Q: Hi i would like to have a set of these but when using ordinary wash powder i find when doing my kids school tops that i need to use an extra powder stain remover. Can i use an inwash powder stain remover in with these balls at the same time, I know they come with a stain remover stick so i just assume that you can add and oxy action stain remover to the load even when using the balls to help get rid of stubborn marks. Please advise.

A: Using an extra stain remover would not cause a problem when used in conjunction with the Eco-Balls. Hope this helps.

2 out of 2 found this question and answer helpful.

Did you find this Q&A helpful? Yes No

Sophie  asked this question on 26th Mar 2008

Q: If i only do a wash once a week will they last for the 1000 washes (approx 19 yrs!) or gradually deteriorate over time? realistically what is the longest time the balls will last? thanks.

A: The Ecoballs themselves do not degrade, it is the pellets inside which are worn down. They wear down when they are wet, so providing the balls are left to dry adequately, the Eco-balls should, in theory, last for the estimated 1000 washes. Obviously, however, we have not had time to test this.

2 out of 2 found this question and answer helpful.

Did you find this Q&A helpful? Yes No

Emma  asked this question on 26th Mar 2008

Q: In some of the reviews people have said they don't need to use a rinse cycle anymore with the Ecoballs, my washing machine won't let me bypass the rinse cycle. Will I still be "saving" if I used the Ecoballs? Thanks in advance. Emma.

A: As the cost per wash (just 3p) is significantly cheaper with the Ecoballs, then even with a rinse cycle you will be making considerable savings on each load of washing, as well as ensuring that harmful chemicals are not introduced into the water sources.

2 out of 2 found this question and answer helpful.

Did you find this Q&A helpful? Yes No

Ian  asked this question on 12th Nov 2007

Q: How long do the eco balls take to dry between successive washes and is it necessary to use fabric conditioner

A: The length of time ecoballs take to dry between washes is obviously greatly influenced by the environment in which you are drying them in. However it should be noted that ecoballs do not need to be fully dry before they can be used on the next laundry load BUT once the day's laundry is complete they should not be left standing in water / or in the drum of the washing machine. Ecoballs cannot be used in the tumble dryer, the dryer will shorten the life of the Ecoballs Re adding fabric softener to the wash with the Ecoballs?You should find that the garments are naturally soft without the use of fabric softener. If you do miss the fragrence aspect we suggest that you could use an Eco softener such as Ecover, but do not add it to the wash. When the wash is complete remove the Ecoballs add the softener and switch the machine on to a short rinse. John.

2 out of 2 found this question and answer helpful.

Did you find this Q&A helpful? Yes No

Fablauren  asked this question on 9th Aug 2010

Q: Does Fabric conditioner ruin eco balls? I used fabric conditioner with them a few times before I realised I wasn't meant to and want to make sure they're still working ok!

Thanks

A: Hi, Ecozone state that "You should find that the garments are naturally soft without the use of fabric softener. If you do miss the synthetic smell we suggest that you only use an Eco softener such as Ecover, but do not add it to the wash. When the wash is complete remove the Ecoballs™ add the softener and switch the machine on to a short rinse." I hope this helps. Robyn.

1 out of 2 found this question and answer helpful.

Did you find this Q&A helpful? Yes No

Marthalouise  asked this question on 20th May 2010

Q: What makes the difference between the 1000 wash ecoballs and the 150 wash ecoballs?
Are the refill pellets specific to each one, or can you use any ecoballs refill products (i.e. are ID31767 and D18202 interchangeable?)
Thankyou.
Martha-Louise.

A: Hi Martha-Louise, there are two different types of eco-balls and two different refills which are specific to those eco-balls. The original Eco Balls last for up to 1000 washes and match these refills. There are alternative ecoballs which last for 150 washes and these have their own refills. I hope this is helpful. Robyn.

1 out of 1 found this question and answer helpful.

Did you find this Q&A helpful? Yes No

Alex  asked this question on 5th Sep 2008

Q: I have used these for a while now and have noticed that the white pellets have nearly all disappeared, but there are still a considerable amount of brown pellets.

What are the difference between the 2 colours of pellets and should there be a roughly even ratio of white to brown pellets?

Will having more of one colour effect the cleaning capabilities of the Eco Balls or do I not need to worry about having more brown than white pellets?

Many thanks.
Alex.

A: The white pellets in the Eco balls are designed as surfactants and the brown pellets as ceramics, and due to this difference the ratio is not supposed to be even, and it would be expected that the brown pellets would indeed last longer. However this is nothing to be concerned about. The manufacturer anticipates that your Ecoballs will need to be refilled or topped up after around 18 months of usage, when the cleaning power is not as strong. I hope this is helpful to you. Jo.

1 out of 1 found this question and answer helpful.

Did you find this Q&A helpful? Yes No

Diana  asked this question on 13th Nov 2007

Q: Where can I get refills of the pelletts once the ones supplied have run out?

A: You can get them from us! ecoball refill pellets (270g) will last up to 750 washes based on a 30 minute wash cycle. price is £19.99 We also sell replacement sponge rings too... POVID:33747 price £1. John

1 out of 1 found this question and answer helpful.

Did you find this Q&A helpful? Yes No

Dc291  asked this question on 20th Aug 2011

Q: Can I use essential oils like lavender in the last rinse to freshen / scent the wash? Would this damage or affect the action of the pellets?

A: Essential oils are fine to use. They should not be added directly onto the balls though as the oil may coat the pellets inside the Ecoballs and prevent them from dissolving effectively. The best thing to do would be to add a few drops into the detergent dispenser drawer so this is distributed evenly in the wash. Kirsty.

1 out of 1 found this question and answer helpful.

Did you find this Q&A helpful? Yes No

Dc291  asked this question on 20th Aug 2011

Q: Can I use soda crystals with this product as a wash booster? Is this necessary?

A: Soda crystals are fine, they shouldn’t affect the Ecoballs – I believe Ecozone's Pure Oxygen Whitener has a similar effect to Soda crystals. Kirsty.

1 out of 1 found this question and answer helpful.

Did you find this Q&A helpful? Yes No

Pamela  asked this question on 26th Aug 2008

Q: I've just starting using these and so far so good. However with 2 young children clothes are often quite grubby, is there a stain remover that I can add to the wash rather than apply to the spot like the one provided, as it isn't likely to last very long applied to the whole front of a tshirt. I know they suggest ecover laundry bleach for whites but is this going to be safe with colours? Thanks

A: Ecover Laundry Bleach is safe to use with colurfast garments as well as whites. You may also like to consider Ecover Stain Remover as another alternative. John.

1 out of 1 found this question and answer helpful.

Did you find this Q&A helpful? Yes No

Matthew  asked this question on 23rd Aug 2008

Q: My girlfriend put them eco-balls in the wash at 95C and am worried that they are now damaged. Can you advise?

A: Ecoballs have a recommended operating temperature, between 30 and 60 C. Using the Ecoballs above 60 will shorten their life but they should still function. John.

1 out of 1 found this question and answer helpful.

Did you find this Q&A helpful? Yes No

Abi  asked this question on 25th May 2008

Q: hi - are these are to use on delicates and handwash labelled clothes? I usually was these on 30 on the relevant wash cycle?thanks

A: The manufacturer's recommendation is that you use only 2 Ecoballs™ for a delicates wash and put your delicates in a laundry bag to protect them, always select the delicates wash on your machine. But if a top is very precious, expensive or delicate, please HAND WASH ONLY and do not use the Ecoballs™. Washing machines can be very rough on delicate clothes.

1 out of 1 found this question and answer helpful.

Did you find this Q&A helpful? Yes No

Bert  asked this question on 17th Jan 2008

Q: Can you use an Essential oil (like Lavender or peppermint oil) to the fabric softener hole? Or would that damage the pellets? Also, when the pellets wear out, what do you do with them: black bin or brown bin? Thanks!

A: The manufacturers of Eco Balls recommend if additional products such as fabric softeners are to be used to add fragrance 'do not add it to the wash. When the wash is complete remove the Ecoballs™ add the softener and switch the machine on to a short rinse.' When the washing pellets have worn out please dispose of any remaining pellets safely in the general waste and not by fire or in your garden. The pellets are biodegradable. John.

1 out of 1 found this question and answer helpful.

Did you find this Q&A helpful? Yes No

Phil  asked this question on 22nd Feb 2008

Q: Do these balls kill off yeast/fungal infections (e.g. thrush)? We've been using vinegar to do this but since the instructions say that they raise the pH of the water (make it more alkaline) and vinegar is an acid they will (probably) cancel each other out!

A: The Ecoballs™ mineral pellets change the water molecules to soften the clothes and change the water acidity to more alkaline (bacteria typically doesn't grow in alkaline conditions). However the addition of vinegar will not be conducive to the performance of this product. John.

0 out of 2 found this question and answer helpful.

Did you find this Q&A helpful? Yes No

Carolyn  asked this question on 18th Jun 2008

Q: Can you use these with a top loading washing machine?

A: Ecoballs™ can be used in Top Loaders, Front Loaders, Twin tubs and industrial use machines (though you will need to use more Ecoballs for industrial machines), the manufacturer's suggest that if your machine has twice the load capacity of a standard domestic machine then use two sets of Ecoballs for maximum results.

0 out of 0 found this question and answer helpful.

Did you find this Q&A helpful? Yes No

Ellen  asked this question on 3rd Nov 2007

Q: Hello. Can I use a (Magno Fix) anti-limescale ball in the drum along with the ecoballs? thank you in advance, Ellen

A: Yes. Using a Magno Ball in the drum with Eco Balls is fine. Andy

0 out of 0 found this question and answer helpful.

Did you find this Q&A helpful? Yes No

Janet  asked this question on 1st Jun 2009

Q: Hi
Can you use Eco Balls in a top loader machine? My sister in New Zealand wants to use them and that's what they all have over there.
Thanks, Janet

A: Yes, according to the manufacturer, Ecoballs can be used just as effectively in Top Loaders. Marty

0 out of 0 found this question and answer helpful.

Did you find this Q&A helpful? Yes No

Zoe  asked this question on 19th Aug 2008

Q: I love the idea of ecoballs but wondered if they are suitable for my machine. I'm not sure if my machine will put enough water in to make sure the ecoballs work. The machine is a Bosch WFF 1401 (bought in 1999) and the manual says 'using only a little water, the TOP WATER SYSTEM is able to provide an especially economical wash and rinse cycle. The fins on the outer side of the drum transport the water upwards. The laundry is then washed continually from the shower of water coming through the openings'. Can you advise me please? Many thanks, Zoe.

A: Ecoballs must be allowed to circulate freely in the water and amongst the clothes to achieve the desired results, so if you suspect that water will be in limited supply Ecoballs may not be the best solution to your laundry needs BUT it's worth remembering that Ecoballs are supplied with a manufacturer backed 30 day money back guarantee - so they could be worth a try. John.

0 out of 0 found this question and answer helpful.

Did you find this Q&A helpful? Yes No

Nicholas  asked this question on 10th Jul 2008

Q: I wanted to know if using soda crystals had a negative effect to ecoballs performance.

A: The Eco Balls manufacturers do not make reference to the potential effects of soda crystals, but they do produce an EcoZone stain remover of their own that can be used for this purpose, which we also sell. Jo

0 out of 0 found this question and answer helpful.

Did you find this Q&A helpful? Yes No

Maria  asked this question on 4th Jun 2008

Q: If using a 10Kg load washing machine, would you use the same amount of balls or do you need to have more? could you use other stain remover (i.e.shout)on the clothes while using these balls?

A: According to the manufacturer's instructions, if your machine has twice the load capacity of standard washing machines, then you should use two sets of Ecoballs. You may like to note that there is a 30 day moneyback guarantee on Ecoballs, so if they do not perform satisfactorily, you may return them. Hope this helps.

0 out of 0 found this question and answer helpful.

Did you find this Q&A helpful? Yes No

Jane  asked this question on 25th Feb 2008

Q: I used Ecoballs for ages, but eventually the outer cushion got warped. What caused this?

A: This is caused by the heat of the water warping the ring over time. Replacement rings are available at: http://www.ethicalsuperstore.com/products/ecozone/ecoball-replacement-sponge-rings-(3)/

0 out of 0 found this question and answer helpful.

Did you find this Q&A helpful? Yes No

Anonymous  asked this question on 23rd Nov 2010

Q: How effective are these balls at actually killing germs? If there is no soap or no high temperature wash, how does it kill germs?

A: Hi, Ecoballs are antibacterial and their PH is higher than 10. Bacteria is active in PH between 6 – 8. I hope this helps. Robyn.

0 out of 0 found this question and answer helpful.

Did you find this Q&A helpful? Yes No

Anonymous  asked this question on 5th Oct 2009

Q: We use a communal laundry to wash our clothes but I would still like to try the Ecoballs. Are the Ecoballs suitable for this situation where different washing powders are used in the machines on a regular basis.

A: There should be no draw-backs in using Ecoballs in a communal machine.

0 out of 0 found this question and answer helpful.

Did you find this Q&A helpful? Yes No

Thomas  asked this question on 3rd Jul 2008

Q: Are these vegan friendly, thanks a lot, Tom.

A: As far as we are aware the Ecoballs are suitable for both vegetarians and vegans. The Ecoballs themselves and the stain remover contain no animal ingredients. Jo.

0 out of 0 found this question and answer helpful.

Did you find this Q&A helpful? Yes No

Maggiea  asked this question on 18th Aug 2011

Q: I've been told that I couldn't use another make of washing balls because all my household water is filtered through a Kinetico water softener. Can I use this brand in pre-softened water?

A: Our Supplier has provided the following information: Yes, Ecoballs are fine to use with water softening systems. We don’t recommend to use them at the same time as a salt based (Calgon-style) tablet as they can prevent the Ecoballs from working properly, but they are absolutely fine to use with pre-softened water. Kirsty.

0 out of 0 found this question and answer helpful.

Did you find this Q&A helpful? Yes No

Mixer3  asked this question on 27th May 2011

Q: A couple of questions: 1. Odours: I use an ecoball and take it straight out after the washing machine finishes. I notice that the ball smells a bit musty. Why is that? Also I notice that the clothes have a slight unwashed odour, again any ideas?
2. Replacement: This is my first ball, how do I know when it is time to replace? I have lost track of number of times used (ball box says good for up to 15o washes). There were some comments from users about the stones shrinking over time as they are used but when do I know they are no longer effective? And I read one comment about the stones becoming so small they come out of the ball and damage the pump. Is that a risk? If so I guess if the ball comes apart during a wash that could damage the washing machine?

A: Hi, Please see the following answers to your questions: 1. ODOURS: This can happen from time to time and is generally just from the Ecoballs picking up any dirt from the machine. You should fill a sink with enough hot water to cover the Ecoballs and add a cup of white vinegar (plain white household vinegar (available on this site) – not a cooking vinegar) to the water. Then add and shake the Ecoballs under the water for 20-30 seconds and leave them out to dry completely. The vinegar should cut through any residues left on the Ecoballs that could cause them to smell like this. This should be done periodically to ensure good cleaning performance. Ideally, you should also clean out your machine as the odour may well be coming from the pipes. You could either use Ecozone's Washing Machine & Dishwasher Cleaner, or again, you could add a cup of white vinegar (both available on this site) to the detergent drawer of the washing machine and run a hot wash in an empty machine without a prewash. 2.REPLACEMENT: The pellets will continue to clean as long as they are in contact with water inside your machine regardless of their size. Over time, the pellets dissolve so will become smaller, lighter, and you will notice they rattle around inside a lot more. They can then be topped up with the sachets provided when there is room to accommodate these – the Ecoballs need to be less than half empty to take a full bag of top-up pellets. The more pellets inside the ball the better the cleaning performance as there is greater surface area to dissolve into the water and clean the clothes. Reports of any damage from erroneous pellets are very rare as the pellets would be picked up by the filter and the pellets are ultimately designed to dissolve. If this does occur, run a boil wash in an empty machine and that should effectively remove any pellets that may have come out.

0 out of 0 found this question and answer helpful.

Did you find this Q&A helpful? Yes No

Stewart  asked this question on 19th Jun 2009

Q: "Once finished washing, remove and dry out" is this after each wash, or can it be at the end of all my washing. i.e 3 or 4 washes in a morning then dry out.

A: It should not be a problem to use the ecoballs in consecutive wash cycles. Though this may decrease the lifespan of the pellets slightly. I hope this helps. Marty

0 out of 0 found this question and answer helpful.

Did you find this Q&A helpful? Yes No

Sue  asked this question on 1st Aug 2008

Q: I have one of the large capacity washing machines (Whirlpool American laundry range). I am putting in twice the number of balls to account for the larger capacity but the maximum timer option for the wash cycle is 15 minutes. When it has completed this 15 minutes, should I put it on again for a further 15 minutes?

Do the clothes really not need rinsing?

A: The manufacturers do recommend 30 minutes as the optimum time for washing - however if your laundry is clean after 15 minutes then we see no need to do a repeat cycle. With respect to rinsing - The pellets inside the Ecoballs™ do not contain any fillers, builders or any chemical that leaves a build up in the fabric, therefore you may cut out the rinse cycle from your wash programme to save water, if your machine allows. This is usually in the form of the RINSE HOLD button. If you cannot cut out the rinse, you can still use the Ecoballs™ through the rinse – you just will not be saving any water.

0 out of 0 found this question and answer helpful.

Did you find this Q&A helpful? Yes No

Jill  asked this question on 14th Jul 2008

Q: It says that they can be used for up to 1000 washes based on a 30 min wash. My machine takes up to 1 hr and a half, should I be thinking about changing the refill a lot sooner or does it not matter about how long they are in the wash for?

A: Yes that's right, the 1000 washes is based upon a 30 min cycle so their lifespan will vary according to the length of cycle. However, do bear in mind that by using Ecoballs you do not need a rinse cycle and they cannot be used in the tumble dryer cycle. Therefore you may be able to cut the cycle time. I hope this helps.

0 out of 0 found this question and answer helpful.

Did you find this Q&A helpful? Yes No

Doorsey  asked this question on 12th Jul 2008

Q: Could you tell me if the dryer balls & the ecoballs can be used in a washer dryer?
Many thanks

A: The Ecoballs are not suitable for use in tumble dryers and so must be taken our before the dry cycle. However, Dryer Balls are perfect for tumble drying. I hope this helps!

0 out of 0 found this question and answer helpful.

Did you find this Q&A helpful? Yes No

Shahid  asked this question on 13th Feb 2008

Q: Are these balls suitable for use in a washing machine connected to a water softener?
Thanks

A: Yes they will work fine with softened water.

0 out of 0 found this question and answer helpful.

Did you find this Q&A helpful? Yes No

Amanda  asked this question on 31st Dec 2007

Q: i usually do a wash to freshen my clothes rather than because they are dirty will eco balls do this if i am not using a nice smelling washing powder thank you

A: Eco balls are odourless when used - so clothes when washed with them will not have any fragrance. John.

0 out of 0 found this question and answer helpful.

Did you find this Q&A helpful? Yes No